Minneota, TMB lead All-Subdistrict selections with 6 each

The South District West announced its All-Subdistrict teams and awards on Monday afternoon. Tracy-Milroy-Balaton led the South with six honorees, tied with Adrian-Ellsworth and Springfield, while Minneota led the North outright with another six.

North Division offensive back of the year Ryan Meagher and defensive lineman of the year Sawyer DeSmet led the way for the Vikings. Max Rost, Parker Bradley, Destin Fier and Eli Gruenes were also selected for Minneota while Ryan Dalager and Alex DePestel were also named as honorable mentions. Chad Johnston was also named the North District Coach of the Year.

Leading off the South, TMB quarterback Trevor Smith was named Co-MVP alongside Springfield’s Ashton Toll while Jeret Ankrum was named the division’s Offensive Receiver of the Year and the Special Teamer of the Year. The Panthers’ other honorees included Brian Erbes, Jacob Meyer, Alex Schuh and Ashton Squires, all of whom were seniors. Eathan Martinez and Dalton Timmerman made the honorable mention team.

Canby and Dawson-Boyd each had four All-Subdistrict selections. Evan Engesmoe, Dylan Houseman, Nick Wagner and Sawyer Verhelst were selected for the Lancers while Parker Bothun, Brayson Boike, Nathan Hansen and Gunner Liebl made the team for the Blackjacks. Johnny Duis and Sam Drietz were both selected for the former while Collin Olson and Kameron Satherwere selected for the latter.

Murray County Central earned another four nods in the south behind Ross Engelkes, Thomas Huso, Colby Kesteloot and Teague Meyer while Aiden Dierks and QUintin Lewis were honorable mentions. Colton Appel, Blake Christianson and Drew Werkman were also honored for Russell-Tyler-Ruthton with Anthony Love and Luke Schreurs earning honorable mentions for the Knights. Wabasso’s Boston Brand and Garrett Marotzke rounded out the area’s South Division honorees while Joe Liebl and Zeke Olson were honorable mentions.

In the North, Owen Cherveny, Andrew Flaten and Brady Dahlager were awarded for Yellow Medicine East while Tucker Fiene and Ethan Staab made it for Lakeview. Eric Jimenez and Cooper McCosh were named honorable mentions for ther sting and Jackson Staab for the Lakers.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

Today's breaking news and more in your inbox
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.38/week.

Subscribe Today