SMSU ATHLETICS: Celebration of Excellence: Mustang Senior Student-Athletes

MARSHALL — The Southwest Minnesota State University Athletics Department celebrated the accomplishments of our outstanding Mustang student-athletes each year with the “Celebration of Excellence” awards program.

The program honors student-athletes that earned awards throughout the year, including All-NSIC, scholar athletes, national qualifiers, All-Americans, All-Region honorees, Myles Brand Award winners, and team MVPs, along with special SMSU faculty and SAAC awards. Nearly 70 SMSU senior student-athletes will be recognized as well for their dedication to Mustang Athletics. The 2020-21 Female and Male Athletes of the Year and the 2020-21 Female and Male Scholar-Athletes of the Year will also be announced.

Due to COVID-19, an in-person “Celebration of Excellence” program couldn’t be held for the second straight year. But, over the next several weeks, SMSU Athletics will still recognize our deserving student-athletes via our website and other social media outlets.

On Tuesday, we celebrated our 69 SMSU senior student-athletes for their incredible hard work and dedication to SMSU athletics both on and off the field of play during their careers in a Mustang uniform.

2020-21 Mustang senior student-athletes

Chris Bain, Football, 2017-20

Ben Branscom, Football, 2020

Nick Cayler, Football, 2017-20

Skyler Crew, Football, 2017-20

Lucas Fisher, Football, 2017-20

Jacob Hojer, Football, 2017-20

Bobby Hosch, Football, 2017-20

Trey Johnson, Football, 2019-20

Aaron Murphy, Football, 2015-20

Bailey Olson, Football, 2016-20

Skyler Quinn , Football, 2020

Trey Sachs, Football, 2017-20

Efrain Segoviano, Football, 2019-20

Jack Swanhorst, Football, 2018-20

Bennett Trygstad, Football, 2017-20

Jackson Ryan, Wrestling, 2015-21

Mateya Hutton, Women’s Basketball, 2017-21

Caleigh Rodning, Women’s Basketball, 2016-21

Sara Teske, Women’s Basketball, 2017-21

Weston Baker Magrath, Men’s Basketball, 2019-21

Nick Dufault, Men’s Basketball, 2016-21

Hannah Kohls, Women’s Golf, 2017-21

Emily Gillingham, Cross Country/Track & Field, 2017-20

Avery Lester, Cross Country/Track & Field, 2017-21

Kayla Jansky, Cross Country/Track & Field, 2016-21

Rebecca Manteuffel, Track & Field, 2018-21

Hailey Nierling, Track & Field, 2019-21

Meghan Sullivan, Cross Country/Track & Field, 2018-21

Joseph Bustrak, Cross Country/Track & Field, 2017-21

Kristian Crabb, Track & Field/Football, 2019-21

Issac Fischer, Cross Country/Track & Field, 2018-20

Clayton Hartle, Cross Country/Track & Field, 2017-21

Tucker Machart, Track & Field/Football, 2018-21

Connor Wigand, Track & Field/Football, 2017-21

Zoe Lier, Volleyball, 2017-20

Caedyn Reinhardt, Volleyball, 2017-20

Sarina Smith, Volleyball, 2017-20

Emma Thomssen, Volleyball, 2017-20

Angela Young, Volleyball, 2016-20

Maegan Flight, Women’s Tennis, 2020-21

Gabriela Reis, 2019-21, Swimming & Diving

Teddy Broxterman, Baseball, 2017-21

Matt Bezdicek, Baseball, 2018-21

John Bezdicek, Baseball, 2018-21

Logan Funk, Baseball, 2018-21

James Hardy, Baseball, 2017-21

Jake Hendricks, Baseball/Football, 2017-21

Nathan Kuhn, Baseball, 2018-21

Derek Smith, Baseball, 2017-21

Spencer Schroeder, Baseball, 2017-21

Brodie Smith, Baseball, 2020-21

Jared Tschetter, Baseball, 2016-21

Jeremiah Van De Steeg, Baseball, 2020-21

Jake Wensmann, Baseball, 2020-21

Shawn Williams, Baseball, 2016-21

Megan Cull, Softball, 2017-21

Emma Grote, Softball, 2017-21

Kaylee Hentges, Softball, 2017-21

Madison Krog, Softball, 2017-21

Madysson Schliinz, Softball, 2018-21

Kali Tomlinson, Softball, 2017-21

Allie Cook, Soccer, 2018-20

Cassidy Erickson, Soccer, 2017-20

Erin Fisher, Soccer, 2016-20

Olivia Harriger, Soccer, 2017-20

Sofie Immens, Soccer, 2017-20

Jenna Meyer, Soccer, 2017-20

Lexi Smith, Soccer, 2018-20

Thomas Adegbite, Esports, 2020-21

— Content courtesy

of SMSU Athletic



Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.38/week.

Subscribe Today