PREP SPORTS ROUNDUP: TMB/WWG wrestling earns pair of wins in home triangular

TRACY — A couple of area wrestling teams competed in the Tracy-Milroy-Balaton/Westbrook-Walnut Grove triangular on Saturday. TMB/WWG earned a pair of victories, defeating Dawson-Boyd/Lac qui Parle/Montevideo United 32-30 and Adrian Area 64-9. United also defeated Adrian 52-22.

For TMB/WWG, against United, Devin Carter, Eathan Martinez and Travis Willhite won by decision while Ayden Horner won by tech fall and Alexander Schuh, Gabe Krick and Caden Johnson won by fall. Kameron Sather, Ethan Moravetz, Landen Knoshal and Kadin Huntley won by decision while Dain Mortenson, Trevon Johnson and Trey Teichert won by fall for United.

Against Adrian Area, David Schuh, Johnson, Martinez and Nic Willhite won by fall while Linkoln Carlson, Carter, Jeret Ankrum, Alexander Schuh and Kalvin Crumrine won by forfeit, Horner won by major decision and Jayden Torgeson and Krick won by decision for TMB/WWG.

For United, against Adrian, Sather won by major decision while Moravetz, Tyler Schickedanz, Zander Clausen, Mortenson and Teichert won by forfeit, Daniel Gunlogson and Avery Wittnebel won by fall and Knoshal and Huntley won by decision.

TMB/WWG will compete next on Thursday at LQPV at 5 p.m. while United will compete next on Tuesday at home against Marshall and BBE at 5 p.m.

JCC triangular

JACKSON — A couple of area wrestling teams competed in the Jackson County Central triangular on Saturday. Wabasso split a pair of duals, falling to JCC 63-12 and defeating Fulda/MCC 41-33. Fulda/MCC also fell to JCC 70-6.

For Wabasso against JCC, Carter Benz won by fall and Hunter Taylor won by forfeit.

Against Fulda/MCC, Kaysen Harms, Ashton Weidemann, Ty Altermatt and Sam Welch won by fall, Gabe Martin and Chase Irbeck won by major decision, Benz won by decision and Taylor won by forfeit for Wabasso. Aiden Lorenzen, Denver Ash, Landen Like-Bonstetter, Quinten Lewis and Ryder Henning won by fall while Christian Kuball won by decision for Fulda/MCC.

Stats for Fulda/MCC’s match against JCC were not available at press time.

Wabasso will compete next on Tuesday at home against Minneota and Canby while Fulda/MCC will compete next on Tuesday at Madelia at 5 p.m.


Boys hockey

Hutchinson 7,

Marshall 0

HUTCHINSON — The Marshall boys hockey team fell to Hutchinson 7-0 on Friday.

Hutchinson scored twice in the first period before adding four goals in the second and one in the third to bring it to the 7-0 final.

Hutchinson outshot Marshall 40-12 on the game. Ezra Maurice recorded 24 saves while Gavin Welsh had nine for Marshall.

Marshall (3-9) will host Minnesota River on Tuesday at 7 p.m.

Girls basketball

Canby 59, YME 40

GRANITE FALLS — The Canby girls basketball team defeated Yellow Medicine East 59-40 on Friday.

Hannah Jelen led Canby with 18 points while Aidyn Bruns added 12 and McKenzie Ruether had 11. Bruns led in rebounds with 13 while Jayla Hulzebos and Ryann Hansen led in assists with three each.

No YME stats were available at press time.

Canby (6-6) will face Ortonville on the road today at 7:15 p.m. while YME (2-10) will face Minneota on the road on Tuesday at 7:15 p.m.

Wabasso 70,

NUC 29

NEW ULM — The Wabasso girls basketball team defeated New Ulm Cathedral 70-29 on Friday.

Sarah Franta led Wabasso with 31 points while Avery Carlson added 13 and Bella Brand had 10. Brand led in rebounds with eight while Carlson led in assists with five.

Wabasso (7-5) will face HLO/Fulda on the road on Tuesday at 7:15 p.m.

HBC 51, WWG 28

HILLS — The Westbrook-Walnut Grove girls basketball team fell to Hills-Beaver Creek 51-28 on Friday.

Isabel and Olivia Klumper led WWG with eight points each while Abby Wiggins added seven. No other stats were available at press time.

WWG (5-7) will face RRC today at 7:15 p.m.




MINNEOTA — The Minneota wrestling team earned a pair of victories in its home triangular on Friday, defeating Adrian Area 54-27 and Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg 42-26.

Against Adrian Area, Destin Fier, Peyton Gillund, Zack Fier and Alex Depestel won by fall while Eric Carrasco, Troy VanKeulen, Brock Fier, Jonah Gruenes and Jackson Esping won by forfeit for Minneota.

Against KMS, Gillund and Esping won by decision while Carrasco, Zack Fier, Depestel, Jonah Gruenes, Hudson Scholten and Jayden Gamrak won by fall for Minneota.

Minneota will compete next on Tuesday at Wabasso at 5 p.m.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today