SMSU holds annual Drown Classic golf tournament

Ryan Bruggeman follows through on his tee shot on the sixth hole during the SMSU Drown Classic golf tournament on Friday at Marshall Golf Club.

MARSHALL – After a week full of heat, strong winds and pouring rain, skies were clear and sunny on Friday afternoon for the 35th annual SMSU Drown Classic golf tournament at Marshall Golf Club.

33 teams consisting of 165 players competed in this year’s tournament. The Kruse Motors team consisting of Kyle McKinzie, Kris McKinzie, Tyler Ferguson, Mike Rodriguez and Nolan Schaeffer took first place with a score of 51 (26-25).

In second place was the McLauglin Farms team of Tom McLaughlin, Doug Krogen, Tim Deutz, Chad Michelson and Mason Plante with a score of 52 (26-26). The Boerboom Insurance team of Wade Boerboom, Alan Ellingson, Josh Hawkinson, Nathan Bourne and Jason Manthei took third place with a score of 53 (26-27).

Two teams tied for fourth with scores of 54. The SMSU Alumni team of Bill Mulso, Mike VanDrehle, Bill Toulouse, Eric Eben and Eric Bly went 28-26 for their score while the team of Kory Grant, Matt Fox, Chris Hmielewski, Kurt Schaeffer and Rob Noren shot 27-27 for their score.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)