NCAA FOOTBALL: NDSU’s Lance first freshman to win STATS FCS Walter Payton Award

FRISCO, Texas – It’s never been done before.

That phrase describes many accomplishments of the North Dakota State football dynasty over the past nine seasons, but the Bison added to the list on the eve of the national championship game at the STATS FCS Awards banquet.

North Dakota State quarterback Trey Lance became the first freshman winner in the 33-year history of the STATS FCS Walter Payton Award on Friday. The award is presented annually to the Offensive Player of the Year in the Football Championship Subdivision.

Lance, a redshirt freshman from Marshall, last month was named the Jerry Rice Award winner as the top freshman player in the FCS. He is the first to win both national player of the year awards, and the first NDSU player to win either award.

The fourth national player of the year from NDSU, Lance joins Harlon Hill Trophy-winning quarterbacks Jeff Bentrim (1986) and Chris Simdorn (1990) and Buck Buchanan Award-winning defensive end Kyle Emanuel (2014).

Lance has attempted 278 career passes without an interception, breaking the school record of 152. He has led the Bison to a 15-0 record in his first year as a starter and is 186-of-277 this season with 2,714 passing yards, 28 TDs and zero interceptions. The 2,714 pass yards and 28 TD passes are both school records for an NDSU freshman.

Lance’s father, Carlton, accepted the awards on behalf of his son, who elected to stay with his teammates in preparation for today’s national championship game against James Madison University. The game kicks off at 11 a.m. on ABC and ESPN3.

— Content courtesy

of NDSU Athletic