SMSU FOOTBALL: SMSU announces 2019 season award winners

MARSHALL — The Southwest Minnesota State University football program announced its 2019 awards at the program’s annual team banquet held on Sunday. Members of the SMSU team and coaching staff selected nine individual awards with senior wide receiver Daniel Davis (Tarpon Springs, Fla.) earning the program’s most valuable player award.

Senior quarterback Boyer Bouman (Pipestone) was named the team’s Offensive Player of the Year, sophomore linebacker Onte Burns (Plymouth) was named Defensive Player of the Year, while freshman Adien Belt (Sioux City, Iowa) was named the squad’s Special Teams Player of the Year.

Boyer also earned the program’s “True Mustang Award”. The award is presented to the student-athlete who embodies the ideals of SMSU football on the field, in the classroom and in the community.

Senior offensive left tackle Zach Stratmoen (Dawson) earned the “Ben Bundy Award”, recognizing the team’s top offensive lineman.

Three Mustangs were recognized for their roles with the SMSU scout teams. The Defensive Scout Player of the Year award went to freshman linebacker Thomas Mergen (Rochester), junior wide receiver Orlando Wallace (Cathedral City, Calif.) earned Offensive Scout Player of the Year, while redshirt freshman Cauy Isaacson (Boscobel, Wis.) was named Scout Special Teams Player of the Year.

Southwest Minnesota State finished the season 3-8 overall.

— Content courtesy

of SMSU Athletic



Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)