SMSU ATHLETICS: SMSU announces 2022 Hall of Honor inductees

MARSHALL — Southwest Minnesota State University Athletics has announced that nine individuals and one team have been selected for induction into the SMSU Athletics Hall of Honor, sponsored by US Bank, on Saturday, Feb. 5, 2022. The SMSU Athletics Hall of Honor is the highest athletic distinction awarded by the University.

The newest SMSU Athletics Hall of Honor members are former football and men’s basketball player Steve Elzenga (1983-88); softball player Erin Dickhausen (2005-08); softball player Amanda (Johnson) Van Gerpen (2006-09); baseball player Colby Pack (2003-06); wheelchair basketball player Josh Turek (1997-2002); former head women’s basketball coach Kelly Kruger (1991-2005); former assistant volleyball coach/community member Paul Soupir (2004-20) and community members and supporters of SMSU Athletics Bob and Sandy Fenske. Also inducted will be the 2008-09 men’s basketball team that won the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference and NCAA Central Region championship.

Complete bios of the inductees will be released at a later time. The SMSU Athletics Hall of Honor banquet, which will be held at the SMSU Upper Level Conference Center, will begin at 10 a.m. with a half-hour social, followed by lunch and the induction ceremonies beginning at 10:30 a.m. Ticket information will be announced in early January.

A 10-member committee chose the inductees from a group of nominations. The new inductees bring the membership in SMSU’s Athletic Hall of Honor to 106 individuals/couples and 15 teams. The SMSU Athletics Hall of Honor, with special thanks to US Bank, is displayed in the lobby of the R/A Facility. To view the SMSU Athletics Hall of Honor, go to SMSUmustangs.com/hallofhonor.

— Content courtesy

of SMSU Athletic Communications


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

Today's breaking news and more in your inbox
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.38/week.

Subscribe Today