SMSU athletics hosts annual Farmer’s Open on Monday

MARSHALL — The Southwest Minnesota State University Athletics Department along with the Farmer’s Open Committee Members, and title sponsors D&G Excavating, Lockwood Motors, McLaughlin Farms, Titan Machinery, Channel Seed, Ralco, Inc. and Wyffels Seed hosted the annual Farmer’s Open on Monday at the Marshall Golf Club.

A total of 33 teams comprised of 132 golfers participated in the event with proceeds going towards ag scholarships for SMSU student-athletes. The tournament has raised more than $15,000 each year and has contributed over $77,000 to the Farmer’s Open Scholarship Endowment Fund.

The Great Plains Processing team of Mike Fielder, Quinton Honerman, Wade Miles and Mike Zuidema won the tournament with a score of 54. The Ralco, Inc. team of Brian Knockenmus, Pat Fricke, John Devos and Leslie Hart took second with a score of 55.

Mike Fielder won the closest to the pin prize on Hole 4 and also recorded the longest drive (male) on Hole 8, while Craig Deutz knocked in the longest put on Hole 6. Andy Schmidt was closest to the pin on Hole 9, Leslie Hart recorded the longest drive (female) on Hole 1 and closest to pin on Hol 10, while Wade Miles was the closest to the pin in two on Hole 12. Jake Carrow had the longest putt on Hole 16 with Brock Citterman registering the longest putt on Hole 14.

The SMSU Athletics Department and SMSU Director of Athletics, Chris Hmielewski, would like to thank the following Farmer’s Open Committee members for their outstanding work on planning this annual event: Tim Deutz, Pat Hennen, Troy Schmitt, Tom McLaughlin, Bill Mulso, Tim Steinbach, Lyle Thiesse, Karen Van Keulen, Tom Ellingson, ReNae Nath, Jordan Jacobson, and Jon Seeman.

In addition to our title sponsors, a big thank you to our Brown Level sponsors: CHS, Cattoor Oil Company, Aspect Ag, Ag Plus, Ag Country, Bremer Bank, Prudential – Jim Kontz, Kibble Equipment, North Star Mutual, Pioneer, Runnings, Cliff Viessman, Inc., Deutz Auctioneering, MinnWest Bank, Great Plains Processing, First Independent Bank, and Edward D. Jones.

Raffle Prize winners can contact the SMSU Athletics Department via email at Chris.Hmielewski@SMSU.edu to pick up their prizes.

Team Winners: (Marshall Golf Club Pro Shop Credit)

1st Mike Fielder, Quinton Honerman, Wade Miles, and Mike Zuidema

2nd Brian Knochenmus, Pat Fricke, John Devos, and Leslie Hart

Random 1 Troy Deutz, Adam Deutz, Cory Deutz, Jordan Deutz

Random 2 Jeff Hoover, Al Blankers, Dan Herrmann, and Nick Malecek

Random 3 Sean Mallett, Jerome Jerzak, Ric Sell, Brand Boerboom

Random 4 Greg Goodmund, Steve Verkinderen, Jim Fox and Steve Bush

Raffle Drawing Winners:

Prudential Koozie/Balls Kyle Hennen

Prudential Cooler Ryan Fromm

Prudential Cooler (large) Brian Knockenmus

MinnWest Bank Package Kelly Pocheart

MinnWest Bank Package Preston Stensrud

SMSU Bundle Andy Deutz

Yeti Can Koozie/Balls Brock Citterman

Travis Przybilla

Leslie Hart

Curt Fried

Ag Country Cooler Ron Bunjer

Mike Zuidema

Runnings Golf Chair Bundle Kyle Hennen

Perry Mcneil

Kat Deutz

Runnings Weed Wacker/Bundle Jordan Jacobson

Terrace Laccek

— Content courtesy of SMSU Athletic Communications


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today