NCAA FOOTBALL: Gophers’ Bateman, Johnson named All-Big Ten First Team

Former Marshall Tiger Blaise Andries named to All-Big Ten Third Team; first Gopher offensive lineman honored since 2016

MINNEAPOLIS — It was another banner day for the University of Minnesota football team, as nine offensive players received postseason honors from the Big Ten.

Leading the way was sophomore receiver Rashod Bateman who was named the Big Ten’s Richter-Howard Receiver of the Year. Bateman is the first Gopher in school history to be named the best reciver in the conference.

Bateman was joined on the All-Big First Team by senior teammate Tyler Johnson, who was also named to the First Team last season. This year is believed to be the first time in conference history that one school has occupied both receiver spots on the First Team ballots by the coaches and media.

Bateman, who was also one of 12 semifinalists for he Biletnikoff Award, has 57 catches this year for 1,170 yards and 11 touchdowns. His 1,170 yards is a single-season school record, eclipsing the previous record set by Johnson last season with 1,169 yards. His 11 touchdowns is one shy of the record 12 set by Johnson last season.

Johnson, who is the lone receiver from a Power Five conference to have consecutive 1,000-yard seasons, has 74 catches this year for 1,114 yards and 11 touchdowns. His 74 catches and 1,114 yards are school records for a senior and rank third and fourth, respectively in the Minnesota record book. He is one touchdown shy of tying the record he set last season with 12.

Blaise Andries, who has started games at left tackle, left guard and right tackle this year, was named All-Big Ten Third Team to become the first Gopher offensive lineman to be honored by the conference since 2016. Andries, who has started every game, has blocked for a prolific Minnesota offense this year. The Gophers have thrown for a school record 3,014 yards and 28 touchdowns this year, while still rushing for 2,108 yards and 24 touchdowns.

Tanner Morgan and Rodney Smith were named All-Big Ten Second Team by both the coaches and media.

Morgan is the first Minnesota quarterback to be on a Big Ten postseason team since the coaches voted Adam Weber All-Big Ten Second Team in 2008. Morgan has had one of the best seasons in school history for a Minnesota quarterback ever. He has set single-season records in passing yards (2,975), touchdowns (28) and consecutive games with a touchdown pass (13, dating back to last season).

Smith has rushed for 1,094 yards this year and eight touchdowns this year and rushed for more than 100 yards in five straight Big Ten games to start conference play. He is only the second running back ever to rush for more than 4,000 career yards and is the school record holder with 5,364 all-purpose yards.

Offensive linemen Curtis Dunlap Jr., Daniel Faalele, Conner Olson and Sam Schlueter were all named All-Big Ten Honorable Mention by the coaches and media.

Minnesota’s Big Ten Honorees

All-Big Ten First Team

Rashod Bateman (coaches, media)

Tyler Johnson (coaches, media)

All-Big Ten Second Team

Tanner Morgan (coaches, media)

Rodney Smith (coaches, media)

All-Big Ten Third Team

Blaise Andries (coaches, media)

All-Big Ten Honorable Mention

Curtis Dunlap Jr. (coaches, media)

Daniel Faalele (coaches, media)

Conner Olson (coaches, media)

Sam Schlueter (coaches, media)

— Content courtesy of

University of Minnesota

Athletic Communications


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)