Board decides to discontinue Prairie Music Concert Association

To the editor:

Prairie Music Concert Association proudly presents two concerts early this spring: “Tapestry, musical tribute to Carole King” on March 7 and Doo-Wah Riders, country band with a Cajun twist, on March 29. Both concerts are at 7:30 p.m. in the Murray County High School Auditorium, Slayton. Please plan to attend and help honor a 40 year history of excellent professional, musical and artistic entertainment in Murray County, Minnesota and surrounding communities.

This will be the final season of the organization. With great regret, the volunteer Prairie Music board has made the decision to discontinue. As all volunteer organizations realize, finances are challenging and recruiting new board members and workers is very difficult.

With abundant appreciation, the board thanks all Prairie Music members, sponsors, and patrons, including our loyal reciprocity guests from Windom and Worthington. We also wish to recognize in appreciation all present and past board members and workers for your faithful support, hard work, and encouragement.

The quality of entertainment, planning and scheduling are a direct result of our contracts and guidance of Allied Concert Services, the Folin family, and Vi Ranney, Allied sales representative. Thank you, we will miss you! We also extend our appreciation to Murray County Central for the ability to rent auditorium space and the assistance of the Community Education office. The availability of KJOE radio, local cable television announcements, news releases and advertising with the Fulda Free Press, Murray County News, and the Wheel Herald have been so helpful in “getting the word out!”

Again, we thank you for your membership and patronage over the years! We urge you to continue supporting the arts on a local level and also through the excellent professional concerts presented by the Windom Concert Association, the Worthington Concert Association, the Pipestone Performing Arts, and the Marshall Area Fine Arts Council.

Prairie Music Concert Association Board Members: Christie Gergen, Donna Groebner, Ruth Hoyme, Lorie and Leon Kruse, Nancy and Greg Moberg, Cindi Pavlis, Sandy Stokesbary, Karen Torbert, Jan Van Oort, Joan and Chuck Vasgaard, and Linda Wing.