No candidates so far for Marshall City Council special election

Sturrock jumps into Lyon Co. commissioner race, McFarquhar to run against Dahms for state senate

MARSHALL — A week into the filing period, there are still no candidates for an open seat on the Marshall City Council. According to the Minnesota Secretary of State’s Office, there were no candidates filed for Marshall’s Ward 1 council seat as of Monday afternoon.

Local residents have until 5 p.m. on May 31 to file in the special election. The city is seeking to fill the council vacancy left after council member Don Edblom’s unexpected death in February. Edblom had more than 180 days left in his term of office, so the city needed to hold an election instead of appointing a council member to serve the remainder of the term.

While there were no new candidates in the Marshall special election, there were new filings in both county and state races.

A second candidate will be joining the race for Lyon County Commissioner District 2. Marshall resident David Sturrock filed in the Commissioner District 2 race on Thursday. Todd Draper of Marshall had filed on May 17. Current District 2 commissioner Steve Ritter has said he will not be running for re-election.

In other county races, several incumbents are running unopposed so far. Charlie Sanow is running for re-election in Commissioner District 1, Paul Graupmann is running for re-election in Commissioner District 3 and Lyon County Sheriff Eric Wallen is also running for re-election.

There have not yet been any filings for the office of Lyon County Attorney, Soil and Water District 2 supervisor, or Soil and Water District 4 supervisor.

Because of Minnesota’s legislative redistricting, area state House and Senate seats are up for election this year. In State Senate District 15, which includes Lyon County, Sen. Gary Dahms has filed for re-election.

Dahms will also have a challenger. Lynd resident Larvita McFarquhar filed for state Senate candidacy on Monday. McFarquhar will be running as a Republican, according to filing information from the Secretary of State’s Office.

In State House District 15A, which includes Lyon County, Keith VanOverbeke of Marshall has filed as a Democratic-Farmer-Labor candidate.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

Today's breaking news and more in your inbox
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.38/week.

Subscribe Today