Byrnes, Meister, Lozinski file for council re-election

Filing period for city, school and township elections closes Tuesday

MARSHALL — With only a few days left in the filing period, it still doesn’t look like there are any contested races for Marshall’s city council. As of Thursday, Marshall Mayor Bob Byrnes and two Marshall council members have filed for re-election, but there weren’t yet any challengers, said Marshall city clerk Kyle Box.

Byrnes filed for re-election earlier this week, while Ward 2 council member Steven Meister and Ward 3 council member James Lozinski both filed last week. There have not yet been any candidates filed for the Ward 1 council seat currently held by Glenn Bayerkohler.

The filing period for municipal, township and school board elections runs through Tuesday.

Box said he had received some calls from people who were interested in the process of filing for city office, but there have been only the three incumbent candidates so far.

“At this point, it’s not uncommon” for candidates to file late in the filing period, he said.

Going by candidate filings posted online by the Minnesota Secretary of State’s Office, there are a lot of local races that are still without candidates as of Thursday. The list includes municipal races in Balaton, Cottonwood, Florence, Ghent, Lynd, Minneota, Russell and Taunton; school board races in the Lakeview, Marshall, Minneota, Lynd, Milroy, and Tracy districts; and township races in Amiret, Eidsvold, Fairview, Grandview, Lynd, Nordland, Rock Lake, Shelburne, Sodus and Westerheim townships.

However, Lyon County Auditor/Treasurer E.J. Moberg said it can sometimes take a while for candidate filings to make it onto the Secretary of State’s website. Cities and townships sometimes wait to notify the county Auditor/Treasurer’s Office of filings, he said.

There have been some filings already posted by the Minnesota Secretary of State’s office:

Municipal elections

In Tracy, Daniel W. Jensen, Ron Koopman, George Landuyt, Jr., and Reuben Sundheim all filed to run for seats on the Tracy city council. According to the Minnesota Secretary of State’s Office, no one has yet filed to run in a special election for Tracy mayor.

In the city of Garvin, Jim Julien filed to run for mayor, and Neil Hefti and Don Peterson filed to run for city council.

Township elections

In Monroe Township, Joe Deschepper filed for town supervisor seat 1, and Steven M. Johnson filed for town supervisor seat 3.

School board elections

In the Russell-Tyler-Ruthton School District, Jeff Hansen filed to run for an at-large school board seat; Anthony James Dybdahl filed to run for a Russell School Board seat; and Troy Chandler filed to run for a Ruthton School Board seat.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today