Commissioners Crowley, Anderson file for re-election

MARSHALL — Three seats on the Lyon County Board are up for election this fall, and so far all three incumbent candidates have filed for re-election.

On Thursday, Lyon County Commissioner Gary Crowley announced he will be running for re-election in Commissioner District 4, and Commissioners Charlie Sanow and Rick Anderson have both filed for re-election, according the Minnesota Secretary of State’s Office.

Crowley is currently the chairman of the Lyon County Board.

“It’s been a privilege to serve the residents of Lyon County for the past three-plus years,” Crowley said in his announcement. “There many reasons I made this decision to run for re-election, none more important than to see my constituents through some of the hardest and unprecedented times we have lived through. I will rely on my past experience and leadership skills to make cost effective decisions to serve the needs of the Lyon County residents.”

“As always, I appreciate your support,” Crowley said.

On Tuesday, Sanow announced he was running for re-election in Commissioner District 1, and filing information from the Minnesota Secretary of State’s Office said Commissioner Rick Anderson filed to run in Commissioner District 5 on May 19.

The filing period for county offices opened May 19, and goes through June 2. In addition to seats in County Commissioner Districts 1, 4 and 5, there will be elections for county Soil and Water Supervisors, in Districts 1, 3 and 5. A special election will be held for District 4 Soil and Water Supervisor.

So far, Mark G. Meulebroeck has filed for election in Soil and Water District 3, and John Lanoue has filed for election in Soil and Water District 4.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today