Campus Notes for June 5

Ridgewater celebrates Class of 2024 graduates

More than 850 graduates celebrated their academic success at Ridgewater College May 9 and 10. Graduates and their families and friends joined together with Ridgewater faculty and staff to honor student achievements May 9 at the McLeod County Fairgrounds in Hutchinson and May 10 at the Willmar Civic Center. * Graduate with honors (3.5 – 3.74 GPA) ** Graduate with high honors (3.75 – 3.99 GPA) *** Graduate with highest honors (4.0 GPA) † Phi Theta Kappa Member

Local graduates are: Boyd: Katherine Bratsch†

Canby: Nicole Barry, Danielle Cornell

Cottonwood: Cayden Caron, Taiven Isaackson,** Ryson Rothschadl, Madison Smith***

Granite Falls: Cody Berghuis, Madison Jeseritz, Nikson Knapper, Bianica Reiten, Luke Streblow**†

Marshall: Chloe Carlson, Larissa Hansen, Si Koch Koch,* Jadan Maurice, Sarah Maurice, MooGer Stee, Martin Thielges, Hei Wah, Noah Wilts, * Jon Win

Milroy: Anna Krause, Nicholas Schmitt***

Minneota: Raeann Bruner, Elizabeth DeSmet***

Wabasso: Gordon Clark,* Camryn Rohlik,** Zachary Turbes

Polejewski receives MSU Moorhead scholarship 

Kayla Polejewski of Marshall has received the Tracy Lynn Mack Scholarship for $3,700 from Minnesota State University Moorhead. She is a graduate of Marshall High School. Her parents are Jim and Gail Polejewski. 

The Brian and Sandy Korbel Scholarship is awarded to full-time seniors or graduate students majoring in special education with a GPA of 3.0 or higher. 

Minnesota West announces fall 2024 scholarship recipients

Minnesota West Community and Technical College recently announced its scholarship recipients.

Collegewide Foundation Scholarships:

Balaton: Jayda Hellewell, agriculture business; Casey Miller, liberal arts

Cottonwood: Nadia Meza-Palmer, pre-nursing individualized studies

Granite Falls: Hailie Bjorndal, liberal arts; Logan Hoff, electrician

Marshall: Kaitlynn DeVos, surgical technology; Aurora Keller, liberal arts

Minneota: McKenzie Tolk, practical nursing, pre-nursing individualized studies

Slayton: Kate Slettum, liberal arts

Tracy: Joseph Anderson, Electrician

Tyler: Allyson Nelson, business management

Wabasso: Noah Anderson, electrician

Workforce Development Scholarships:

Granite Falls area

Granite Falls: Jordan Bakkelund, electrician; Logan Hoff, electrician; Kylie Knollenberg, radiologic technology; Amy Lindmeier, surgical technology

Boyd: Lilly Moorse, associate degree nursing, practical nursing, pre-nursing individualized studies

Marshall area

Marshall: Nicole Brandt, practical nursing, pre-nursing individualized studies; Kaitlynn DeVos, surgical technology; Gage Guetter, electrician

Arco: Alexis Schreurs, liberal arts, occupational therapy assistant, pre-occupational therapy assistant

Balaton: Jayda Hellewell, agriculture business

Minneota: McKenzie Tolk, practical nursing, pre-nursing individualized studies

Lake Wilson: Sinai Castillo, carpentry

Wabasso: Noah Anderson, electrician

Pipestone area

Holland: Alyssa DeRuyter, medical assistant

Lake Benton: Sabel Christensen. radiologic technology; Gabryelle Wieme, pre-radiologic technology, radiologic technology

Ruthton: Brynn Peterson, medical laboratory technician

Worthington area

Slayton: Taylor Ossefoort, practical nursing, pre-nursing individualized studies

PSEO/REACH Scholarship

Dawson-Boyd High School: Hailey Rasmussen, Hayley Anderson

RTR High School: Allyson Nelson, Kya Alderson

Lake Benton: Addison Jensen


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

Today's breaking news and more in your inbox
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.38/week.

Subscribe Today