Campus Notes for May 25

Sovell receives doctorate in Pharmacy

Dr. Natalie Sovell, daughter of Jane and Ken Sovell, and a 2015 graduate from Marshall High School, received her doctorate in Pharmacy from South Dakota State University College of Pharmacy and Allied Health Professions recently. Sovell was recognized as the Doctor of Pharmacy Distinguished Graduate, which is the highest honor available to pharmacy students. The Doctor of Pharmacy Distinguished Graduate Award is presented to one student based on leadership, communication skills, patient counseling skills, student and faculty relations, campus and community service, service to the College of Pharmacy and Allied Health Professions and South Dakota State University, involvement in extramural professional activities, and academic performance.

Sovell also received the American Pharmacists Association Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP) Senior Recognition Award, which is presented to one student who has made the greatest contribution to SDSU’s APhA-ASP chapter. Upon graduation, Sovell will be completing a PGY1 pharmacy residency at Sanford USD Medical Center in Sioux Falls, S.D.

Minnesota State Community and Technical College announces graduates

The following area students are among the 700 2021 spring semester graduates of Minnesota State Community and Technical College, with campuses in Detroit Lakes, Fergus Falls, Moorhead and Wadena.

Canby: Marissa Hansen, business: management, marketing and sales, AAS

Ghent: Michael DeVaan, plumbing, diploma

Granite Falls: David Hidalgo, heating, ventilation, AC and refrigeration, diploma

Marshall: Mohamed Ahmed, criminal justice, AS; Filemon Cruz, plumbing, diploma

MSU, Moorhead has graduation

Minnesota State University Moorhead had virtual commencement ceremonies on May 13 and 14.

Local graduates include:

Laura Crowell, educational leadership (EDD), Lynd; Kayli Ginocchio, exercise science (BS), Marshall; Anna Jennings, summa cum laude, commercial music (BS), Marshall; Katarina Kuhlmann, curriculum and instruction (MS) (Dawson-Boyd High School); Andrew Lenz, cum laude, English/mass communications (BA), Cottonwood; Karlie Mayer, speech-language pathology (MS), Tracy; Hayden McKittrick, educational leadership (SPEC), Marshall; Patricia Myrvik, educational leadership (EDD), Minneota; Chelsey Niemeyer, magna cum laude, criminal justice (BA), exercise science (BS), psychology (BA), Granite Falls; Stella Nwachukwu, nursing (MS), other – GED, Marshall; Jackie Peterson, nursing (RN to BSN) (BSN), Hendricks


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.38/week.

Subscribe Today