Campus Notes for July 8

Concordia announces dean’s list

Local students were named to the 2019-2020 second semester dean’s list at Concordia College in Moorhead.

To qualify for this designation, students must carry a minimum of 12 semester credits and have a grade-point average of at least a 3.7 on a 4.0 scale.

Local students on the dean’s list include:

Balaton: Bobbie-Jo O’Neil; Clarkfield: Carmen Peterson; Dawson: Cody McKesson, Behtanie Whitmore; Lynd: RhiannonMarkegard; Marshall: Mason Penske, Ryan VanMoer, Sadie Zahrbock; Tracy: Noah Tiegs; Walnut Grove: Madelynn Schumacher

UMD announces dean’s list for spring semester 2020

The University of Minnesota Duluth (UMD) has announced its dean’s list for spring semester 2020. Students on the dean’s list have achieved a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher.

Arco: Morgan Radel

Boyd: Alisa Fenske

Echo: Julia Redner

Granite Falls: Kaitlyn Mathiowetz, Rebecca Velde

Marshall: Peyton Bruce,Sydney Meister,

Tracy:  Sydney Lanoue

MSU Mankato announces dean’s lists

The Academic High Honor and Honor lists (dean’s lists) for the past spring semester at Minnesota State University, Mankato have been announced by interim Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs Matt Cecil.

Among 4,290 students, a total of 1,485 students qualified for the High Honor List by achieving a 4.0 straight “A” average, while 2,805 students earned a 3.5 to 3.99 average to qualify for the Honor List.

To qualify for academic honors, undergraduate students must be enrolled for at least 12 credit hours for the semester.

During the 2020 spring semester, because of the pandemic, there is an exception for undergraduate students who elect to use “pass/no credit” grades. Under this exception, those who received “P” grades will still be eligible for dean’s list honors if they meet all of the following criteria:

• Enrolled in at least 12 credits (i.e. full-time enrollment)

• Completed at least 6 of those 12 credits using the traditional letter grading method

• Earned grades of P for the remainder of their credit load for the term

• Earned a term GPA of 3.5 or higher.

Balaton: Brandon Groenewold, Honor List; Canby: Abigail Rangaard, Honor List; Currie: Riley Schmitz, Honor List; Ghent: Baily Kaas, Honor List; Granite Falls: Samuel Jans, High Honor; Lake Benton: Samantha Schindler, Honor List; Lynd: Dawsyn Deutz, High Honor, Ashtin Hmielewski, Honor List; Marshall: Alyssa Ahmann, Honor List, Camryn Allex, Honor List, Ashley Arndorfer, High Honor, Lexis Arnold, Honor List, Amanda Biastock, High Honor, Grace Bolin, High Honor, Laura Bolin, Honor List, Elijah Brau, Honor List, Andrew Doyle, High Honor, Katie Ewing, Honor List, Samantha Giannelli, High Honor, Kaylee Gossen, Honor List, Carlie Heil, Honor List, Gabrielle Hess, High Honor, Jacob Hess, High Honor, Andrew Mulso, High Honor, Katie Polzin, High Honor, Maxwell Roelfsema, High Honor, Abigail Schauer, Honor List, Brooklyn Sukalski, Honor List; Minneota: Rachel VanKeulen, Honor List; Taunton: Hunter Fier, Honor List, Ashley Grengs, Honor List; Tracy: Samantha Edwards, Honor List, Muawan Her, Honor List, Sarita Hook, High Honor, Lilia Vang, Honor List, MaiDee Vang, Honor List, Lina Vue, Honor List, Pahnia Vue, Honor List, Anna Zwach, Honor List; Tyler: Westin Kirk, Honor List, Alicia Thovson, Honor List; Walnut Grove: Daniel DeSmith, High Honor, Parker Freeburg, Honor List, Mariah Soleta, Honor List

Area students named to dean’s list at UW-River Falls

The University of Wisconsin-River Falls spring semester dean’s list honoring 2,210 students has been released by Registrar Kelly Browning.

To be named to the dean’s list, a full-time undergraduate must earn a grade-point average of at least 3.5 on a scale of 4.0, or midway between an “A” and “B” average. Area students are listed below by hometown, name, and major.

Granite Falls: Anna McCosh

Marshall: Samantha Philips

Minnesota West Foundation receives grant from SW Initiative Foundation

The Minnesota West Foundation recently received a $5,000 grant from the Southwest Initiative Foundation to provide immediate assistance to students in need. The grant, which is a “Grow Our Own Responsive Grant,” is intended to provide emergency assistance to those Minnesota West students whose financial circumstances due to the COVID-19 pandemic are preventing them from successfully completing their education.

“We are extraordinarily grateful to the Southwest Initiative Foundation for this assistance,” said Michael Van Keulen, executive director of the Minnesota West Foundation. Since mid-March, the Minnesota West Foundation has awarded over $4,000 in emergency assistance to students for needs ranging from daycare payments to rent assistance to technology access, and more. “The majority of our student body lives and works in the communities that our college serves. This grant, combined with gifts from faculty, alumni, and friends of the college, will help us to help them.”

The Minnesota West Foundation is the 501c3 charitable arm of Minnesota West Community and Technical College. It annually distributes over $250,000 in scholarship and other forms of assistance to students and college programs.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today