Education Briefs for June 24

Avera Marshall Auxiliary Scholarship winners announced

The Avera Marshall Auxiliary has awarded five $1,000 scholarships to area high school graduates. Criteria for selection included academic excellence, participation in school activities, active community involvement, and a demonstrated interest in the health care professions.

Kary DeVlieger, a Marshall High School graduate, will be attending Minnesota State University Mankato to study exercise science/pre physical therapy. She job shadowed through a career internship in a variety of departments at Avera Marshall Medical Center.

Claire Goepferich, a graduate of Lakeview High School, Cottonwood, will be attending Alexandria Technical and Community College to pursue a degree in nursing. She has volunteered at Morningside Heights Care Center and has been employed at the Minneota Manor for two years.

Ramsey Nelson, a graduate of Marshall High School, will be attending the University of North Dakota to pursue a degree in nursing. She has completed a job shadow and an internship in a variety of departments at Avera Marshall Hospital.

Ashley Owen, a graduate of Russell-Tyler-Ruthton High School, will be attending South Dakota State University to become a doctor of pharmacy. She completed a job shadow at Avera Marshall Hospital and has volunteered at Tyler Healthcare Nursing Home.

Bailey Varpness is a graduate of Lakeview High School in Cottonwood. She plans to attend North Dakota State University to study pre-med biochemistry. She is a certfied nursing assistant and has job shadowed in ophthalmology at Avera Marshall Medical Center. She has been employed at Minneota Manor Health Care Center for two years.

Minnesota West announces spring semester 2020 dean’s list

Minnesota West Community & Technical College announced the spring semester 2020 dean’s list. Students must be enrolled in at least 12 graded credits and earn a minimum 3.5 grade-point average to be eligible for dean’s list honors. Spring 2020 dean’s list honors were extended to the following students from Minnesota West Community & Technical College:

Celeste Aamodt, Slayton; Olabisi Adebayo, Marshall; Hannah Anderson, Dawson; Maria Anderson, Porter; Grant Anseeuw, Canby; Sydney Bartunek, Dawson; Eden Bengtson, Slayton; ColinBrennan, Canby; Jade Bukowski, St. Leo; Heather Burnett, Walnut Grove; Wade Busselman, Ivanhoe; Mark Busswitz, Westbrook; Isaac Callens, Marshall; Alison Castor, Marshall; Kyle Christensen, Milroy; Briana Citrowske, Marshall; Wyatt Cooper, Walnut Grove; Tyler Crawford, Granite Falls; Christinea Dahl, Hanley Falls; Diana De Smet, Minneota; Kathleen DeSmet, Minneota; Graham Dinnel, Lake Benton; Colton Ebel, Hanley Falls; Justin Ehrenberg, Clarkfield; Daphne Ellefsen, Lake Benton; Jordan Falconer, Marshall; Cameron Faller, Clarkfield; Braeden Full, Canby; Elizabeth Gillette, Slayton; Kasey Goblirsch, Balaton; Cole Hanson, Hendricks; Matthew Hanson, Marshall; Ahmed Hassen, Marshall; Daneal Haupert, Lake Wilson; Jake Henckel, Canby; Madelynne Hicks, Tracy; Slade Irvine, Clarkfield; Corey Johnson, Granite Falls; Kaia Jordahl, Clarkfield; Katherine Jorgenson, Westbrook; Katherine Konold, Minneota; Ashleigh Kraft, Marshall; Alicia Lee, Canby; Touhoua Lee, Walnut Grove; Hallie Lingen, Balaton; Veda Maharaj, Dawson; Nicole Maher, Revere; Lauren McCosh, Granite Falls; Richard Mendoza, Slayton; Jodene Mensink, Wood Lake; Grace Moline, Slayton; Denaca Moorse, Minneota; Edwinah Mosioma, Marshall; Roselida Mukanga, Marshall; Hilda Murrey, Marshall; Mustapha Musa, Marshall; Charity Ngelo, Marshall; Elizabeth Olson, Canby; Olanrewaju Omodele, Marshall; Isaiah Perry, Granite Falls; Samantha Pohlen, Wabasso; Rachel Popowski, Cottonwood; Leah Rigge, Echo; Jesse Robertson, Cottonwood; Andrew Scholl, Marshall; Andrew Shultz, Clarkfield; Cassidy Skogen, Canby; Tristan Sorensen, Ivanhoe; Taylor St. Pierre, Cottonwood; Tara Staab, Clarkfield; Barbara Thomsen, Marshall; Michael Timm, Granite Falls; Nicole Ure, Slayton; Bridget Varpness, Cottonwood; Kylie Wendinger, Dawson; Aubrey Wirth, Verdi.

Northern State University releases spring 2020 dean’s list

Northern State University in Aberdeen, S.D., has released the dean’s list for the spring 2020 semester.

Students who have earned at least a 3.5 grade-point average for the semester are eligible for the dean’s list. There are four categories:

• Full-time students with a GPA of 4.0.

• Full-time students with a GPA of 3.5-3.99.

• Part-time students with a GPA of 4.0.

• Part-time students with a GPA of 3.5-3.99.

Full-time students, 4.0

Allison Anderson, Canby

Alexis Lienemann, Cottonwood

Full-time students, 3.5-3.99:

Nicholas Dunn, Marshall

Iowa State University announces spring 2020 dean’s list

More than 12,500 Iowa State University students have been recognized for outstanding academic achievement by being named to the spring semester 2020 dean’s list.

Students named to the dean’s list must have earned a grade-point average of at least 3.50 on a 4.00 scale while carrying a minimum of 9 credit hours of graded course work.

Marshall: Meghan Shouse; Tyler: Grace Ekema

CLC announces spring 2020 graduates

Central Lakes College, Brainerd and Staples, has announced the spring 2020 graduates. These students have completed degree, diploma or certificate programs. High honors students earned a 3.75-4.0 GPA. Honors students earned 3.25-3.74 GPA.

Kennar Wee of Cottonwood received an associate of arts with honors.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today