Education Briefs for Feb. 12

MPMA education foundation offers scholarships

The Minnesota Precision Manufacturing Association’s Education Foundation is offering $2,000 scholarships to students of all ages with an interest in manufacturing so that they can get the training they need to become successful in the field. Applications must be submitted by April 15, and information about how to apply can be found at www.mpma.com.

For more information, call 952-564-3041, or email office@mpma.com.

True Light announces its second quarter honor roll

True Light Christian School announces its second quarter honor roll for the 2019-2020 academic school year. Those qualifying are:

8th grade: Emma Bottelberghe, Coby Brownlee, Siri Christensen, Gracelyn Foster, Thomas Hanson, Jude Knudson, Allyson Sample.

7th grade: Ryan Botsford, Alex Buss, Naya Grahn, Jack Meier, Aubree Metheny, Ben Pafko, Carter Prins, Gabriella Ross, Naomi Sternke, Augie Sturrock, Kendall Walerius, Braelyn Wing.

6th grade: Trinity Brownlee, Carson Brusven, Brennon Doughty, Maggie Loe.

5th grade: Daphne Bemer, Josiah Sternke, Deacon Wing.

Two area teachers among candidates for 2020 Minnesota Teacher of the Year

ST. PAUL – The 2020 Minnesota Teacher of the Year will be chosen from a field of 134 candidates. These candidates have accepted their nominations and completed the required materials to become eligible for the honor.

This year’s program will name the 56th Minnesota Teacher of the Year, celebrating the tradition of excellence in teaching in Minnesota. Eligible candidates include pre-kindergarten through 12th grade, Early Childhood Family Education and Adult Basic Education teachers, from public or private schools.

The 2020 Minnesota Teacher of the Year will be announced Sunday, May 3, at the Saint Paul RiverCentre. Over the coming weeks, a 25-member panel of community leaders will name a group of semifinalists and finalists.

Organized and underwritten by Education Minnesota, the Minnesota Teacher of the Year program receives support from Education Minnesota ESI, Educators Lifetime Solutions, EFS Advisors, Harvard Club of Minnesota Foundation, SMART Technologies and United Educators Credit Union.

The candidates for 2020 Minnesota Teacher of the Year, include Marty Brandl, Marshall Public Schools; and Tim Bobeldyk, Murray County Central Schools.