Campus Notes for Jan. 15

Area Student Voice representatives announced at Lake Area Tech

Lake Area Technical Institute has announced its Student Voice Representatives for the 2019-20 school year. Student Voice provides an avenue for student input in campus policy and other processes by establishing open dialogue between students and Lake Area Tech administration. Representing the entire student body, members are elected by fellow students in each program and serve a one-year term, from October to May. Members of the Student Voice are committed to the positive academic, social, and ethical development of Lake Area Tech students.

The area 2019-20 Student Voice members are Jonathan Flores, business associate, Marshall; Dylan Bach, high performance engine machining, Canby; Makenzie Stolp, human services technician, Russell; and Hunter VanLerberghe, welding, Tyler.

Martinson named to Mount Marty College fall dean’s list

Grant Martinson of Marshall was recently named to the dean’s list of Mount Marty College in Yankton, South Dakota, for the fall 2019 semester.

The Mount Marty College dean’s list is comprised of full-time undergraduate students completing a full-time load of graded coursework with a minimum term GPA of 3.5.

Minnesota West Community & Technical College, announces fall semester 2019 dean’s list

Minnesota West Community & Technical College, would like to announce the fall semester 2019 dean’s list and to congratulate the following students for their outstanding academic achievement. Students must be enrolled in at least 12 graded credits and earn a minimum 3.5 grade-point average to be eligible for dean’s list honors. Fall 2019 dean’s list honors were extended to the following students from Minnesota West Community & Technical College:

Arco: Molly Krog; Balaton: Kasey Goblirsch; Boyd: Morgan Johnson; Canby: Grant Anseeuw, Colin Brennan, Jake Henckel, Alicia Lee, Elizabeth Olson; Clarkfield: Shyann Enney, Cameron Faller, Kaia Jordahl; Cottonwood: Kaitlin Fischer, William Grube, Rachel Popowski, Jesse Robertson; Dawson: Hannah Anderson, Sydney Bartunek, Jade Bukowski, Nicholas Kittelson; Granite Falls: Corey Johnson, Charlynn Lund, Isaiah Perry, Joshua Peterson; Hanley Falls: Colton Ebel; Hendricks: William Doyscher, Katie Hansen, Cole Hanson; Ivanhoe: Kimberly Block, Wade Busselman, Heidi Pavek; Lake Benton: Torianne Cowell, Daphne Ellefsen; Marshall: Olabisi Adebayo, Andrew Bennett, Isaac Callens, Alison Castor, Molly Coil, Samuel Gleason, Nicholas Guerrero, Alec Jahn, Austin Klaith, Edwinah Mosioma, Roselida Mukanga, Hilda Murrey, Olanrewaju Omodele; Minneota: Nolan Boerboom, Diana DeSmet, Kathleen DeSmet, Anthony DeSmet, Katherine Konold, Denaca Moorse; Porter: Maria Anderson; Tracy: Austin Axford, Tucker Elsen; Tyler: Alan Fischer; Walnut Grove: Heather Burnett, Wyatt Cooper; Westbrook: Mark Busswitz; Wabasso: Samantha Pohlen; Wood Lake: Emily Peterson.

Area students named to dean’s list at UW-River Falls

The University of Wisconsin-River Falls fall semester dean’s list honoring 1,755 students has been released.

To be named to the dean’s list, a full-time undergraduate must earn a grade-point average of at least 3.5 on a scale of 4.0, or midway between an “A” and “B” average. Area students are listed below by hometown, name, and major.

Granite Falls, Anna McCosh, marketing communications; Marshall, Samantha Philips, animal science.

Baynard on UW-Madison fall dean’s list

The University of Wisconsin-Madison has recognized students named to the dean’s list for the fall semester of the 2019-2020 academic year.

Students who achieve at a high level academically are recognized by the dean at the close of each semester. To be eligible for the dean’s list, students must complete a minimum of 12 graded degree credits in that semester. Each university school or college sets its own GPA requirements for students to be eligible to receive the distinction.

Marshall, Alexis Baynard, School of Education, dean’s list

Area students named to MSU Moorhead dean’s list

The following area students have been named to the Minnesota State University Moorhead dean’s list in recognition of academic achievement fall semester 2019. Students must be in degree-seeking status and maintain a 3.25 or higher grade point average while completing a minimum of 12 graded credits to qualify for the honor.

Bridget Appel, chemistry, Marshall High School, Marshall; Teagan Bentz, international studies, Marshall High School Marshall; Ryan Borstad, exercise science, pre-physical therapy, developmental adapted physical education, Dawson-Boyd High School, Dawson; Morgan Cleveland, health & medical sciences, Canby High School, Canby; Nicholas Erbes, exercise science, Marshall High School, Marshall; Maria Estrada Palmer, graphic design, Marshall High School, Marshall; Hunter Gillund, business analytics, Minneota High School, Minneota; Sawyer Hansen, physical education, developmental adapted physical education, Canby High School, Canby; Garrett Hennen, exercise science, Minneota High School,Minneota; Anna Jennings, commercial music, Marshall High School, Marshall; Kyle Kruse, anthropology, Marshall High School, Marshall; Chloe Lear, elementary inclusive education, Russell-Tyler-Ruthton High School, Pipestone; Andrew Lenz English/mass communications, Lakeview School, Cottonwood; Chelsey Niemeyer, exercise science, psychology, criminal justice, Yellow Medicine East High School, Granite Falls; Tyler Persons, computer science, Marshall High School, Marshall; Karley Polejewski, speech/language/hearing science, Marshall High School, Marshall; Madison Radel, early childhood education, Marshall High School, Arco; Hope Richardson, elementary inclusive education, Dawson-Boyd High School, Dawson; Rachel Thomsen, speech/language/hearing science, Marshall High School, Lynd; Ethan Thovson, history, Canby High School, Canby.

Philliber named to dean’s list at UW-Superior

The University of Wisconsin-Superior has named Morgan Philliber of Tyler to the dean’s list for academic achievement during the fall 2019 semester.

To be named to the dean’s list, students must have completed 12 degree-seeking semester credits and achieved at least a 3.50 grade-point average (on a 4.0 scale).

Central Lakes College announces fall 2019 Dean’s, President’s lists

Central Lakes College, Brainerd and Staples, has announced its 2019 fall semester honors lists.

The president’s list includes 268 students who earned a grade-point average of 3.75 to 4.0 while enrolled for at least 12 credits.

The dean’s list includes 280 students who earned a grade-point average of 3.25 to 3.74.

Kennar Wee of Cottonwood was named to the dean’s list. Theodore Pesch of Minneota was named to the president’s list

UMD announces dean’s list for fall semester 2019

The University of Minnesota Duluth (UMD) has announced its dean’s list for fall semester 2019. Students on the dean’s list have achieved a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher.

Students named to the dean’s list are:

Arco: Morgan Radel; Boyd: Alisa Fenske; Marshall: Sydney Meister: Tracy: Sydney Lanoue

Gustavus Adolphus College announces 2019 fall semester dean’s list

The fall semester dean’s list at Gustavus Adolphus College has been released. The list comprises students who have earned a 3.7 grade-point average (based on a scale in which 4.0 = A) or higher for the semester ending in December 2019.

The following local students were named to the Dean’s List at Gustavus Adolphus College:

Dawson: Jake Lee, Christian Thoen

Marshall: Thomas Fischer, Michael Gutman