SMSU Briefs for Aug. 14

SMSU announces recent graduates

A total of 409 degrees were awarded to students following the spring session of courses at Southwest Minnesota State University.

The students earned their degrees in both undergraduate and graduate degree programs. An undergraduate student who completes 12 or more A-F graded credits and achieves a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher will be considered for the dean’s list and is denoted by a * behind their name.

Arco: Caroline Greve (bachelor of science in nursing: nursing-RN to BSN). Balaton: Suanne Christiansen (master of science: education). Cottonwood: Gina Huso (master of science: education). Currie: Nathan Wallenstein (bachelor of science: accounting). Dawson: Amanda Miller* (bachelor of science: elementary education); Andrea Lee* (bachelor of science: elementary education); Courtney Lundy* (bachelor of science: social work); Easton Popma* (bachelor of arts: chemistry)(bachelor of arts: biology); Elle Weber* (bachelor of science in nursing: nursing-RN to BSN); Emily Williamson* (bachelor of science: com arts & lit/secondary educ-English); Michael Lee* (bachelor of science: accounting); Spencer Erickson* (bachelor of arts: chemistry)(bachelor of arts: biology). Echo: Tiffany Lecy (master of science: education). Granite Falls: Briana Yerigan (bachelor of science: social work); Danielle Koepke (bachelor of science: management); Jeffrey Iverson (education specialist: educational administration & leadership); Katrina Syring (bachelor of science: management). Hanley Falls: Ashley Jorgenson* (bachelor of science in nursing: nursing-RN to BSN). Ivanhoe: Samantha Pies (master of science: education). Lucan: Laurie Ourada* (bachelor of arts: sociology). Lynd: Christopher Henderson (bachelor of science: marketing). Marshall: Okony Agwa (bachelor of science: agronomy); Carter Barker (bachelor of arts: mathematics); Katie Boerboom* (bachelor of arts: biology); Elizabeth Breyfogle (bachelor of arts: art) (bachelor of arts: psychology); Sarah Buysse* (bachelor of science: marketing) (bachelor of science: management); Antonio Correa Jr. (bachelor of science: management); Kelsey Hewitt (master of science: education); Cami Hoover* (bachelor of science: management); Katie Jenson (master of science: education); Kelsey Larsen (master of science: education) Austin Leek (bachelor of science: computer science); Julius Lokwavi* (bachelor of science in nursing: nursing-RN to BSN); Hannah Lund (bachelor of arts: biology); Tinuola Afolabi (master of science: education) Samantha Onken (bachelor of arts: psychology); Jared Schmidt (bachelor of science: management)(bachelor of science: marketing); Jordan Schroeder (bachelor of science: culinology); Tawnni Slagel (bachelor of science: exercise science); Aaron Tyson (bachelor of arts: psychology); Jamila Vue (associate of arts: liberal arts & sciences); Bonnie Wasberg (master of science: education); Blythe Zeug* (bachelor of arts: biology). Slayton: Anthony Falk (bachelor of science: communication studies: broadcasting & digital media); Lindy Larson (bachelor of science: special ed: academic & behavioral strategist); Melanie Behrends* (bachelor of science in nursing: nursing-RN to BSN). Tracy: Asa Nelson* (bachelor of applied science: agriculture); Cody Ziemke (bachelor of arts: art); Selena Herr (bachelor of arts: biology). Vesta: Tou Ker Vue (bachelor of arts: biology); Jennie Wotschke* (bachelor of science: agribusiness management); Kaitlyn Leach* (bachelor of arts: psychology) (bachelor of science: justice administration). Wabasso; Shelby Taylor* (bachelor of science: com arts & lit/secondary educ-English). Westbrook: Alexander Knutson (bachelor of science: management).

Smokefest is Friday, Saturday at SMSU

Competitive barbecue returns to Marshall for the 12th annual Southwest Minnesota State University Smokefest, which will be Friday and Saturday at SMSU.

Event coordinator Tim Steinbach said about 42 barbecue teams will compete this year for cash prizes.

Smokefest has become a regional favorite as teams from across the Midwest vie for top honors. Teams will arrive Friday and begin setting up in the parking lot next to the R/A Facility.

Teams will barbecue four meats — chicken, brisket, ribs and shoulder (pulled pork) — and those will be turned in for judging starting around noon Saturday. Results will be announced at 4 p.m. in the R/A Facility.

Smokefest is sanctioned by the Kansas City Barbecue Society, with the grand champion qualifying for a drawing to advance to the Jack Daniels Invitational competition in Tennessee. The overall winner automatically qualifies for the Royal Barbecue Contest in Kansas City.

The public is invited to attend the event and watch how competition barbecue teams smoke the various cuts of meat.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)