Education Briefs for June 19

Marshall School District awarded for Outstanding Financial Reporting

The Association of School Business Officials International (ASBO) awarded Marshall Public Schools – ISD #413 with the Certificate of Excellence in Financial Reporting (COE). ASBO International’s COE recognizes districts that have met the program’s high standards for financial reporting and accountability. The school district earned the Certificate of Excellence for its Comprehensive Annual Financial Report (CAFR) for the fiscal year ended 2018. This marks the eighth year the district has received this award.

“The COE’s mission is to promote and recognize excellence in financial reporting, specifically through a district’s CAFR,” ASBO International Director of Recognition Programs Molly Barrie said. “The CAFR informs parents and other stakeholders about the financial and economic state of the district, making it an important communications tool for building trust and engaging with the school community.”

“We are honored to receive ASBO’s COE award,” said Dion Caron, Marshall Public Schools business services director. “This award is a reflection of the staff’s commitment to provide transparency in financial reporting and making information available to our stakeholders.”

By participating in the COE program, school districts demonstrate their commitment to financial transparency. Applicants submit their CAFR for review by a team of professional auditors, who provide feedback to improve future documents. If the CAFR meets the requirements of the program, the document may receive the Certificate of Excellence. A district’s participation in the COE program can facilitate bond rating and continuing bond disclosure processes.

The COE is sponsored by ASBO International Strategic Partner American Fidelity.

Area students awarded scholarships at Concordia

The following is a list of students who are recipients of scholarships to attend Concordia College, Moorhead.

It also indicates the scholarship or scholarships the student received and if they are in a specialized program such as the CREDO Honors program or the nursing program.

Ayden Friese, Granite Falls, Excellence. Marshall: Chloe Hinson, Excellence; Ta’mia Hedlin; Excellence, speech; Simon Zahrbock, Excellence, BREW


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)