Education Briefs for Feb. 6

True Light Christian School posts honor roll

True Light Christian School announces its 2nd quarter honor roll for the 2018-19 school year

8th grade: Kaden Clark, Shauna Fricke, Jackson Lendt, Justin Sternke, Jettison Wing.

7th grade: Emma Bottelberghe, Coby Brownlee, Grace Bump, Siri Christensen, Gracelyn Foster, Thomas Hanson, Jude Knudson, Allyson Sample.

6th grade: Ryan Botsford, Alex Buss, Naya Grahn, Jack Meier, Aubree Metheny, Ben Pafko, Carter Prins, Gabriella Ross, Naomi Sternke, Augie Sturrock, Kendall Walerius, Olivia Williams, Braelyn Wing.

5th grade: Caleb Bottelberghe, Trinity Brownlee, Brennon Doughty.

True Light Christian School to have dinner theater

True Light Christian School’s Dinner Theater is at 6 p.m. Thursday at Friday at the school. “Get Wrecked” is a play written and produced by True Light 7th- and 8th-graders. Its focus is on a gentleman who has lost sight of what’s important in life. When tragedy strikes, he must learn to take control of his emotions and situations, and remember to look up. The play is based on Colossians 3:1-2. The event is a means of raising support for the school’s Compassion International child and youth mission trips. The play is at 7:30 p.m., and the cost is $17 for dinner and the show; $7 for the show only. Contact 532-2762 for reservations.

Area schools to receive USDA DLT Grant

East Central Minnesota Educational Cable Cooperative (ECMECC), Southwest West Central Service Cooperative (SWWC) and three school districts in the Northwest Links region have been awarded $249,027 in the “Distance Learning and Telemedicine Grant Program” administered by the USDA and the Rural Utilities Service.

This Rural Development investment will be used to purchase and install interactive video distance learning telecommunications equipment which will provide critically needed learning opportunities focused on workforce readiness, world language and college credit courses to secondary students, and provide access to video technology to provide experiential learning, student support services and other collaborative activities in elementary schools.

The following area school districts in southwest and west central Minnesota are included in this grant: Canby, Clarkfield Area Charter, E.C.H.O. Charter, Ivanhoe, Lake Benton, Marshall, Milroy, Murray County Central, Tracy Area, Wabasso, and Westbrook-Walnut Grove.

For more information, contact Josh Sumption, technology director, at