Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

State champion Eagles lead way in All-Red Rock Conference nods

March 26, 2013
Marshall Independent

Class A boys' basketball state tournament champion Southwest Minnesota Christian had six players earn All-Red Rock Conference honors for the 2012-13 season, the conference announced Monday in a release.

The Eagles, who defeated Maranatha Christian Academy Saturday in the Class A championship game, had four all-conference honorees (Eric Talsma, Klint Knutson, Dominic Nibbelink and Leighton Sampson) and two honorable mentions (Nate Pfeifle and Clayton Huisken). SWC went 30-1 overall and 16-0 in Red Rock Conference play.

Among Marshall-area teams in the conference, Red Rock Central had a pair of all-conference players in senior guard Jeff DeCock and senior center Henry Rogotzke. The pair helped lead the team to a 16-10 record overall and a 10-6 record in conference action.

WWG senior Taylor Lindaman was named to the All-RRC team, and Chargers junior Alex Knutson was an honorable mention. The Chargers finished 10-16 overall and 5-11 in the conference.

Murray County Central senior guard Jack Thony was the lone Rebel player to earn all-conference accolades. He was an honorable mention for MCC, which went 3-20 overall and 3-13 in conference play.

Fact Box

All-Red Rock Conference Team

Adrian: Nick Reyne.

Edgerton: Brett Ford, Isaac Heard.

Ellsworth: Mitch Leuthold.

Fulda: Andy Oakland, Todd Peterson.

Hills-Beaver Creek: Jeff Sandbulte, Dylan Gehrke.

Mountain Lake Area: Josiah Stoesz, Carter Kirk.

Red Rock Central: Jeff DeCock, Henry Rogotzke.

Southwest Minnesota Christian: Eric Talsma, Klint Knutson, Dominic Nibbelink, Leighton Sampson.

Southwest United: Andrew Kramer.

Westbrook-Walnut Grove: Taylor Lindaman.

All-Red Rock Conference Honorable Mentions

Nate Pfeifle (SWC), Clayton Huisken (SWC), Andrew Hempeck (MLA), Spencer Harder (MLA), Dalton Bass (HBC), Zach Schumacher (SWU), Dan Kramer (Ellsworth), Alex Knutson (WWG), Taylor Recker (Adrian), Jack Thony (Murray County Central).



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web