Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Vikings, Blackjacks lead in All-Camden volleyball awards for 2012 season

December 7, 2012
Marshall Independent

Camden Conference champion Minneota led the way in all-conference volleyball honors for the 2012 season, getting three All-Camden selections, the Camden South Division Most Valuable Player and the Camden South Coach of the Year following a perfect 11-0 record in conference play.

Minneota sophomore middle hitter Taylor Reiss was named the Camden South Player of the Year, while Vikings head coach Steph Hennen was the division's coach of the year. Earning All-Camden honors for the Vikings were junior outside hitter Molly Hennen, junior setter Megan Larson and senior middle hitter Hanna Prellwitz.

The Vikings finished the season with a 31-4 overall record and placed third at the Class A state tournament.

It was the Dawson-Boyd Blackjacks who piled up awards in the Camden North Division. Senior middle hitter Mari Lee was named the division's player of the year, while Dawson-Boyd's Ashley Dahl was coach of the year following a 21-7 season, which included a 7-4 mark in conference play. Other all-conference selections for Dawson-Boyd included junior setter/hitter Justine Flattum and sophomore libero Kylie Schuelke.

There were several other players from the Marshall area who picked up All-Camden honors. In the North Division, Lakeview junior middle hitter Brianna Hoffman and senior outside hitter Tegan VanMoer earned all-conference accolades.

In the South Division, Canby senior outside hitter Taylor Gorder and senior libero Hannah Jessen were all-conference players. Tracy-Milroy-Balaton had three All-Camden players, including senior outside hitter Kelli Soupir, sophomore libero Anna Peterson and sophomore middle hitter Sammie Gervais. And for Russell-Tyler-Ruthton, sophomore outside hitter Janel Wichern earned all-conference status.

Fact Box

All-Camden Conference Volleyball Team

North Division

Central Minnesota Christian: Kari Blom, Alexis Scott, Kristin Slagter.

Dawson-Boyd: Justine Flattum, Kylie Schuelke.

Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg: Samantha Dunn.

Lakeview: Brianna Hoffman, Tegan VanMoer.

MACCRAY: Brooklyn Gould, Aleah Schwitters.

Renville County West: Sadie Treml.

MVP: Mari Lee (Dawson-Boyd).

Coach of the Year: Ashley Dahl (Dawson-Boyd).

South Division

Canby: Taylor Gorder, Hannah Jessen.

Minneota: Molly Hennen, Megan Larson, Hanna Prellwitz.

Russell-Tyler-Ruthton: Janel Wichern.

Tracy-Milroy-Balaton: Sammie Gervais, Anna Peterson, Kelli Soupir.

MVP: Taylor Reiss (Minneota).

Coach of the Year: Steph Hennen (Minneota).



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web