Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Swedzinski wins in 16A

November 7, 2012
Marshall Independent

MARSHALL - Chris Swedzinski continued the Republicans' winning streak in the district that includes Lyon County and will return to St. Paul for a second term in the newly-redrawn House District 16A.

Swedzinski defeated DFL challenger Al Kruse by nearly 14 percentage points.

Swedzinski, of Ghent, was first elected in 2010, succeeding Marty Seifert, who had served the district since 1997.

District 16A covers roughly the northern two-thirds of Lyon County, parts of Redwood County and all of Yellow Medicine and Lac qui Parle counties.

In House District 16B, incumbent Republican Paul Torkelson held off two challengers - Independent Jerry Pagel and DFL candidate James Kanne. Kanne was running a distant second late Tuesday.

Torkelson, of Hanska, was first elected to the Minnesota House of Representatives in 2008.

District 16B covers most of Redwood County and all of Brown County.

In House District 22A, which now covers all of Lincoln, Pipestone, Murray and Rock counties, the northwest tip of Nobles County and the southern portion of Lyon County, incumbent Joe Schomaker, of Luverne, defeated DFLer Gene Short.

In House District 22B, which includes all of Cottonwood County, most of Nobles County, the southwest corner of Redwood County and roughly half of Jackson County, Republican incumbent Rod Hamilton, of Mountain Lake, defeated Cheryl Avenel-Navara.

To the north in House District 17A, DFL incumbent Andrew Falk, of Murdock, won over Republican Tim Miller, of Prinsburg. Falk entered office in 2008. District 17A includes Swift, Chippewa and Renville counties, as well as the southwest corner of Kandiyohi County.

Bruce Vogel, the Republican incumbent from Willmar, trailed Mary Sawatzky by nearly six percentage points late Tuesday. District 17B covers most of Kandiyohi County.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web