NWBA WHEELCHAIR BASKETBALL: SMSU set to host national wheelchair tournaments

MARSHALL – The National Wheelchair Basketball Association has announced the official brackets for the 41st annual National Wheelchair Intercollegiate Basketball Tournaments to be held on the campus of Southwest Minnesota State University on March 15-17. Games will be held at both the R/A Facility and PE Gym.

SMSU last hosted the national championship tournament in 2010.

The nine-team men’s tournament and four-team women’s tournament will begin on March 15 with a total of seven games. Seven more games will take place on Friday, March 16, while the two third place and two championship games will be held on Saturday, March 17.

The University of Alabama earned the No. 1 seed in the men’s tournament and will open play versus the winner of the No. 8 University of Nebraska-Omaha and No. 9 Auburn University contest. The University of Texas Arlington will be the No. 2 seed and will open with No. 7 seed University of Illinois. The No. 3 seed University of Wisconsin-Whitewater will battle No. 6 seed Southwest Minnesota State University, while the other quarterfinal match-up features No. 4 seed University of Missouri taking on No. 5 seed Edinboro University.

The women’s tournament features No. 1 seed Texas Arlington taking on No. 4 seed Wisconsin-Whitewater, while the No. 2 seed Alabama will play No. 3 seed Illinois.

Texas Arlington won the men’s championship a season ago, while Alabama won last season’s women’s title.

Southwest Minnesota State has won three national championships with the last coming in 1986.

Content courtesy

of SMSU Athletic