SMSU ATHLETICS: Action Sports takes home the team title at 12th annual Mustang Shootout

MARSHALL – The Mustang Booster Club along with presenting sponsors Marshall Radio and Shooter’s Sporting Clays held the 12th Annual Mustang Shootout on Saturday. 20 teams comprised of 96 shooters participated in the 18 station, 100-bird clay pigeon tournament hosted by Shooter’s Sporting Clays in Marshall.

All proceeds from the event benefit the SMSU Athletics Scholarship Fund. The event was started in 2006 and has raised over $100,000 in scholarship dollars.

Co-Overall Champions were crowned as Lance Hurd and Kim Runholt each tallied a score of 96. Aaron VanMoer’s score of 94 was good for runner-up, while Troy Bach (92) came in third place. In the Women’s Division, Kristi Van De Reit hit 64 birds to take the overall title. With a score of 89 Braiden Hurd took the Youth Division Crown.

Individual winners received two general admission season tickets for the 2017-18 SMSU basketball and wrestling seasons plus a trophy.

The four-member team of Lockwood Motors (Lance Hurd, Gary Hurd, Braiden Hurd and Nick Atcher) combined for a 352 to finish only second to the 361 put up by Action Sports’ Aaron VanMoer, Jim Swenson, Jeff DeSchepper, Ryan Stelter and Tim Krogen.

Each team member of the winning teams received two general admission regular season tickets to any 2017-18 SMSU basketball game or wrestling match, and a SMSU branded gift.

The Southwest Minnesota State University athletic department would like to thank the following committee members and others that served an integral part of the event: Jenn Graven, Ron Halgerson, Brock Baldwin, David Krull, Neil Frost, Chuck Muller, Nate Peterson, Brad Strootman, Jeff Pryor, Brad Bigler, Rolly Muller and Tim Steinbach. Another special thanks to Rich Warner for setting up the shooting course and the SMSU men’s basketball team for managing the course during the event.

SMSU Athletics would also like to thank the following sponsors for their continued support of Mustang Athletics and the Mustang Shootout:

Anchor Sponsors


Action Sports


Lockwood Motors

Brown Sponsors

Boerboom Ag Resources

Edward Jones (Ryan & Brent Snodgrass and Neal Frost)

SMSU Foundation

SMSU Alumni Association

KHC Construction


Gold Sponsors

Bremer Bank

Investors Choice Finanical Services

Kesteloot Enterprises, Inc.

Sussner Construction, Inc.

Beverage Whoesalers

Tall Grass Liquor

The Escape Spa

Content courtesy

of SMSU Athletic