Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

20 SMSU athletes earn NSIC All-Academic honors for fall season

November 22, 2012
Marshall Independent

The Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference announced its 2012 Fall All-Academic team, and 20 Southwest Minnesota State student-athletes made the cut.

To be eligible for the honor, a student-athlete must be a member of the varsity traveling team and have a cumulative grade point average of 3.20 or higher. The athlete must also have reached sophomore athletic and academic standing and must have completed at least one full year at his/her institution.

SMSU had 12 athletes earn all-academic honors from the football team, four from volleyball, three from soccer and one from the women's cross country team.

SMSU?NSIC All-Academic Team Honorees

Women's Cross Country

Amanda Estes, Sr., Rock Rapids, Iowa


Nate Carr, So., Elmore

Alex Huls, Sr., Holdingford

Adam Iverson, Jr., Sioux Falls, S.D.

Charlie Kern, So., Belle Plaine

Justin Knakmuhs, Jr., Walnut Grove

Will Kurka, So., Minneota

Austin Nichols, Sr., State Center, Iowa

Tyler Peschong, Sr., Marshalltown, Iowa

Matt Stark, Sr., Bloomington

Jacob Thiel, Jr., Oak Creek, Wis.

Dan Timm, Sr., New Ulm

Britt Wickett, Jr., Brandon, S.D.


Autumn Hayes, So., La Crescent

Shayna Smith, So., Anoka

Sonya Smith, So., Anoka


Brooke Burmeister, Sr., Lakefield

Ellen Degler, So., Chanhassen

Mary Groth, Sr., West Bend, Wis.

Christa Wolf, So., Jordan



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web