Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Marshall leads pack in SWC football honors

November 19, 2012
Marshall Independent

The Southwest Conference released its list of all-conference honorees for the 2012 football season, and after going a perfect 6-0 in conference play for the second straight year, the Marshall Tigers piled up a heap of postseason accolades.

The Tigers led all conference teams with six All-SWC players. Marshall had five seniors chosen as all-conference players, including tackle Austin Nath, defensive back/quarterback Austin Saugstad, guard Alex Werner, running back Rhett Struve and linebacker Campbell Hofstetter. The lone Tiger junior to make the list was tackle Tyus DeBoer.

Honorable mentions for Marshall were senior linebacker Stephen Womack and tight end Aaron Mathiowetz.

Marshall also took five of six of the SWC's player/coach of the year awards.

Nath was named the conference's offensive lineman of the year, Saugstad was the defensive back of the year, senior kicker Tanner Cirks was the special teams player of the year and Terry Bahlmann earned the conference's coach of the year honors. DeBoer split the defensive lineman of the year award with Luverne's Alex Weis.

The Tigers went unbeaten through the regular season and finished the year with a 9-1 mark, losing in the Section 2AAAA semifinals 21-14 to Glencoe-Silver Lake.

Luverne had five all-conference players, and Jackson County Central, which advanced to the Class AA state tournament semifinals, had four all-conference selections.

2012 All-Southwest Conference Football Team

Marshall: Austin Nath, Austin Saugstad, Alex Werner, Tyus DeBoer, Rhett Struve, Campbell Hoffstetter.

Luverne: Brett Heronimus, Alex Weis, Skyler Wenninger, Cody Rofshus, Nathan Kannas.

Jackson County Central: Darick Vancura, Zach Copley, Tanner Menke, Kyle Luhmann.

Pipestone Area: Alex Ossefoort, Gunnar Manderscheid, Jacob Derby.

Worthington: Will Dudley, Alex Hayenga.

Redwood Valley: Brayden Kuistero.

Windom Area: Michael Rivera.

All-Southwest Conference Honorable Mentions

Stephen Womack (Marshall), Aaron Mathiowetz (Marshall), Wyatt Aubert (Luverne), Matt Arends (Luverne), Matt Schmit (JCC), Nolan Hohenstein (JCC), Zach Boucher (Pipestone), Josh Mabon (Pipestone), Morgan Traylor (Worthington), Austin Kretsch (RV), Trent Bever (Windom).

Offensive Lineman of the Year: Austin Nath - Marshall.

Defensive Lineman of the Year: Tyus DeBoer - Marshall; Alex Weis - Luverne.

Offensive Back of the Year: Zach Copley - JCC.

Defensive Back of the Year: Austin Saugstad - Marshall.

Special Teams Player of the Year: Tanner Cirks - Marshall.

Coach of the Year: Terry Bahlmann - Marshall.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web