Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Marshall leads way in All-SWC volleyball, tennis selections

Class AA champion Tiger volleyball team gets 4 All-SWC nods; Tiger tennis also puts 4 on all-conference list

November 13, 2012
Marshall Independent

The Southwest Conference announced its all-conference list of players in volleyball and girls' tennis on Monday, and the Marshall Tigers led the way in honorees in both sports.

The defending Class AA champion Marshall volleyball team, which defeated Caledonia 3-1 in Saturday's state championship match, had a conference-high four All-SWC selections.

Junior outside hitter Kenzie Beekman, junior setter Sydney Griffin and junior libero Hannah Bennett were joined by senior middle hitter Maci Louwagie as Marshall's All-SWC honorees. Senior outside hitter Angela Tauer was named all-conference honorable mention for Marshall.

The Tigers finished the 2012 season with a 6-0 conference record and a 29-5 record overall. They lost just one set against conference teams all season.

Jackson County Central, the SWC runner-up, had three all-conference honorees, including Michelle VanEpps, Lydia Brandt and Jasmine Erickson.

In girls' tennis, the Marshall Tigers earned a league-high four All-SWC honorees after winning a share of the conference title in 2012.

The Tigers had three seniors on the all-conference list, including singles player Brooke Louwagie and doubles teammates Maggie Roy and Maddie Schoephoerster. Foreign exchange student and singles player Julia Hartmann also earned an All-SWC nod.

All-Southwest Conference football honors will not be released until all conference teams have finished playing.

2012 All-Southwest Conference Volleyball Team

Marshall: Kenzie Beekman, Sydney Griffin, Hannah Bennett, Maci Louwagie.

Jackson County Central: Michelle VanEpps, Lydia Brandt, Jasmine Erickson.

Pipestone Area: Amanda Haupert.

Redwood Valley: Steph Jensen.

Windom Area: Holly Larson, Hali Tasler.

Worthington: Brooke Henning.

2012 All-Southwest Conference Honorable Mention Volleyball

Angela Tauer (Marshall), Kaylee Burmeister (JCC), Ellen Dahl (Luverne), Taylor Kruisselbrink (Pipestone), Jasmine Carlson (Windom), Tara Svalland (Worthington).

2012 All-Southwest Conference Tennis Team

Marshall: Julia Hartmann, Brooke Louwagie, Maggie Roy, Maddie Schoephoerster.

Luverne: Katilin Wohnoutka, Paige Adams, Kynzie Smedsrud.

Pipestone Area: Veronica Johnson.

Redwood Valley: Abby Schmidt.

Worthington: Kate Lesnar.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web