Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Coleman, Mulso re-elected; Kovash joins Marshall School Board

November 7, 2012
Marshall Independent

Incumbents fared well in local school board elections in Lyon County Tuesday, including board members Matt Coleman and Bill Mulso, who were re-elected to the Marshall Public School board, along with first-time candidate Curt Kovash, in an uncontested election process Tuesday.

Coleman led the campaign with 4,927 votes, while Mulso accumulated 4,184 votes and Kovash 4,027.

In the Tracy Area School board race, district voters re-elected three board members and welcomed one newcomer to office. First-time candidate Ben Ludeman tallied the most votes with 1,866, followed by incumbents Nicole Swanson (1,669), Annette Miller (1,541) and Allen Landa (1,477). Sarah Willhite received 1,090 votes.

With four candidates on the ballot and three seats available, Lakeview residents re-elected all three incumbents back to office. Jason Louwagie garnered the most support, with 1,073 votes, while Tracy Sterner received 860 votes and Alan Grube 719. Candidate Chuck Ness picked up 629 votes. With three seats available on the Minneota School board, all three candidates were successfully elected to office Tuesday. Incumbents Dan Longtin and Christy Brewers were re-elected to the school board with 1,060 and 979 votes respectively, along with newcomer Bernie Decock, who received 1,005 votes.

Three candidates were re-elected to the Westbrook-Walnut Grove school board in addition to one newcomer. District voters elected incumbents Marvin Kleven (1,065 votes), Bruce Jorgenson (1,048) and Timothy Helmer (956) to serve along with Ginny Barron (913). Murray County Central school board incumbents Cindy Meling and Sue Streff were also re-elected Tuesday, with 2,052 and 1,995 votes respectively. A third board member, Jeremy Steinle was also elected with 1,847 votes.

In Lincoln County school board races, Hendricks voters elected Gary Johnson (461 votes), Chester Frank (407) and Laura Sherman (277). Lisa Schmidt received 231 votes in defeat.

Three incumbents were re-elected in the Ivanhoe School district, with Archie Citterman earning 591 votes, Beth Otto 576 votes and Matt Landrus 545.

In the Lake Benton school district, Ladon Prosch was elected with 499 votes, as were Roger Rudebusch (478 votes) and Mike Smith (441). In a special election, Heath Houselog ran unopposed, receiving 572 votes.

In Yellow Medicine County, Tim Opdahl (4,488 votes), Grant Velde (2,467), Steve Zumhofe (2,266) and Jane Hagert (2,010) were elected to the Yellow Medicine East School Board. A fifth candidate, Mark Hoeper received 1,279 votes in defeat.

In the Dawson-Boyd school district, Tony Aafedt, Brett Buer and Bruce Lund were elected after picking up 1,038, 994 and 974 votes respectively. Kendall Stelter earned 968 votes in defeat.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web