Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Eagles, Chargers lead way in All-Red Rock volleyball selections

November 6, 2012
Marshall Independent

The Red Rock Conference released its list of all-conference honorees on Monday, with Southwest Minnesota Christian and Westbrook-Walnut Grove leading conference teams with four All-RRC selections apiece.

Southwest Minnesota Christian won the conference title with a perfect 10-0 conference record and placed four seniors on the list of all-conference players, including Morgan Van Hulzen, Shelby Klarenbeek, Amber Pater and Hannah Van Dyke.

WWG had a pair of seniors earn all-conference honors in outside hitter Paige Erickson and middle hitter Hailey Osland. Also making the list were Charger freshman setter Abby Herding and junior outside hitter Dayna Comnick. Madison Takle, a junior right side hitter, was named all-conference honorable mention for WWG, which finished second in the conference standings with an 9-1 mark.

The Murray County Central Rebels, who ended the season third in the conference standings at 7-3, had a pair of All-RRC players in junior middle hitter Kristi Bose and senior outside hitter Taylor Schreier. Junior libero Hannah Schmidt was an honorable mention selection.

Red Rock Central placed a junior and two seniors on the all-conference team. Junior Brooke Rasmussen joined seniors Fern Engen, a middle hitter, and Chloe Arfsten, an outside hitter, on the All-RRC list. Earning all-conference honorable mention for the Falcons was senior middle hitter Katie Larsen. The Falcons finished fifth in the conference standings with a 6-4 record.

2012 All-Red Rock Conference Volleyball Team

Southwest Minnesota Christian: Morgan Van Hulzen, Shelby Klarenbeek, Amber Pater, Hannah Van Dyke.

Westbrook-Walnut Grove: Dayna Comnick, Paige Erickson, Abby Herding, Hailey Osland.

Southwest United: Courtney Place, Mandy Henkels, Alyssa Henrickson.

Murray County Central: Kristi Bose, Taylor Schreier.

Red Rock Central: Brooke Rasmussen, Fern Engen, Chloe Arfsten.

Mountain Lake Area: Janessa Peters.

Hills-Beaver Creek: Paige Leuthold.

Adrian: Rachel Kontz.

Edgerton: Sarah Post.

Fulda: Brittney Hermeling, Rachel Cheadle.

All-Red Rock Conference Honorable Mention

Jennifer Schmidt (SWC), Carissa Tinklenberg (SWC), Madison Takle (WWG), Sarah Baumgard (SWU), Hannah Schmidt (MCC), Lindsey Barritt (MCC), Katie Larsen (RRC), Rachel Dukes (MLA), Haley Van Wyhe (HBC), Meghan Leuthold (HBC), Courtney Vaske (Adrian), Jessica Menning (Edgerton), Alexa Huisman (Ellsworth).



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web