Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Campus notes for May 2

May 2, 2012
Marshall Independent

MinnWest named among 120 Top Community Colleges in America

Highlighting the critical importance of improving student success in America's community colleges, the Aspen Institute College Excellence Program recently named 120 top community colleges, challenging them to compete for the $1 million fund for the 2013 Aspen Prize for Community College Excellence. Minnesota West Community and Technical College, Granite Falls was among the 120 colleges. The Aspen Institute identified the 120 community colleges - 10 percent of all institutions - using a quantitative formula that assesses performance and improvement in four areas: graduation rates, degrees awarded, student retention rates, and equity in student outcomes. These colleges will now compete for the prestigious honor following a year-long research process into how well their students learn, complete degrees, and get jobs with competitive wages after graduating. A full list of the 120 community colleges is available at Prize winners will be announced in March 2013.

Local students inducted into Phi Beta Kappa honor society

Two local students from the College of Saint Benedict, St. Joseph, and Saint John's University, Collegeville, were inducted into the Theta of Minnesota Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa May 1 at CSB and SJU.

The students include Dalton Buysse, the son of Chuck and Sharon Buysse of Marshall. Buysse is a senior biology major at SJU. Anthony Jensen, the son of Terri and Joe Jensen of Marshall. Jensen is a senior political science and history major at SJU.

Ourada recognized for outstanding student research writing

Research papers written by undergraduate students at South Dakota State University won awards of $250 to $2,500 April 23.

The annual Schultz-Werth Awards were presented to 32 seniors at the university's Undergraduate Research, Scholarship and Creative Activity Day at Volstorff Ballroom.

Papers are submitted in two categories: math, engineering, and physical and biological sciences; and humanities and social sciences.

The winners include Anthony Ourada, Lucan, "The Proof of Magic Squares."

The students' papers are evaluated by a committee of seven SDSU faculty members.

Vandendriessche awarded scholarship at SDSU

Danica Vandendriessche of Marshall was awarded the K. Lorette Lackey Scholarship for the 2012-2013 academic year at South Dakota State University.

Vandendriessche is a sophomore majoring in bio/pre-physical therapy at SDSU. She is the daughter of Ronald and Linda Vandendriessche and is a graduate of Marshall High School.

Welu receives scholarship from Milroy Elevator

Samantha Welu, a senior at Marshall High School, received a $500 scholarship from the Milroy Elevator in recognition of her academic achievements throughout high school.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web