Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Campus notes for Feb. 1

February 1, 2012
Marshall Independent

UMD announces dean's list for fall semester 2011

The University of Minnesota Duluth has announced its dean's list for fall semester 2011. Students on the dean's list have achieved a grade point average of 3.5 or higher.

Boyd: Brittany Bailey, Courtney Bailey. Cottonwood: Camille Doom. Dawson: Ashley Tensen. Marshall: Brock Rysdahl.

Pekar on dean's list at Northwestern

Beth Pekar, a student at Northwestern College in Orange City, Iowa, has earned a spot on the academic dean's list for the fall 2011 semester.

The dean's list is comprised of students who have achieved a semester grade point average of 3.50 or above while carrying a minimum of 12 graded hours.

She is the daughter of Michael and Mary Pekar of Lamberton.

Hoffman receives degree

Bellevue University had its commencement ceremony Jan. 28 in Omaha, Neb.

Erin Hoffman of Canby received a bachelor's of science in healthcare management.

Area students earn degrees

St. Cloud State University conducted fall 2011 commencement ceremonies Dec. 18 at Halenbeck Hall for about 644 students; 572 undergraduate, 70 graduate and two doctoral.

Among them are Granite Falls: Laura Munsterman, bachelor of science, life science/general science education grades 5-12; Marshall: Ryan Lindeman, bachelor of science, marketing; Tracy: David McCoy, bachelor of science, mass communications.

Bitker named to dean's list at Bethel

Hannah Bitker, a senior at Bethel University in St. Paul, has been named to the dean's list for academic excellence for the winter 2011 semester. She is the daughter of Steve Bitker from Milroy.

The dean's list honors students who achieve an outstanding scholastic record during a semester with a grade point average of 3.6 or greater.

Rignell included on UW-La Crosse fall 2011 dean's list

The following student has been named to the dean's list at the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse for the fall semester of the 2011-12 academic year, ending December 2011. Students on the dean's list from this area include Jordan Rignell of Currie

Qualification for the dean's list is limited to students who have attained outstanding academic achievement. To be eligible, students must have earned not less than a 3.5 semester grade point average and have carried a minimum of 12 semester credits.

Van Leeuwe named to St. Mary's dean's list

Amanda Van Leeuwe, the daughter of Daniel and Joan Van Leeuwe of Ghent, was named to the first semester 2011-12 dean's list at St. Mary's University of Minnesota.

The list includes students who earned a grade point average of 3.60 or better on a 4.0 scale.

Fischer receives scholarship from Alpha Gamma Rho

Douglas Fischer of Ghent has received an academic scholarship from Epsilon Chapter of Alpha Gamma Rho (AGR) at North Dakota State University.

Fischer, the son of Mark and Beth Fischer, is a sophomore majoring in accounting.

To receive the scholarship, he achieved a 4.0 grade point average.

Scholarships awarded by Epsilon Chapter of Alpha Gamma Rho Fraternity at NDSU are the result of financial contributions by the chapter's alumni in conjunction with the NDSU Development Foundation and the National AGR Educational Foundation.

Garvin student participated in BSU Madrigal Dinners

Bemidji State University's Madrigal Dinners, a yuletide tradition that celebrated its 43rd birthday this December, ran for five performances on campus Dec. 2-10.

The cast for Bemidji State's 2011 Madrigal Dinners production included Melissa Noerenberg of Garvin, a soprano majoring in biology.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web