Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Education briefs for Oct. 12

October 12, 2011
Marshall Independent

Penny Program board appointments include Slayton resident

The Minnesota State University Student Association (MSUSA) and the Penny Program Board announced the appointment of seven members to its Board of Directors on Tuesday.

Newly appointed board members include Carla Goedtke of Slayton. She will join the board to serve in a Community Professional seat. She is currently the Chief Financial Officer for Investors Choice Financial Services in Slayton and Marshall and a graduate of Minnesota State University, Mankato.

As a student, Goedtke was active in MSUSA and served three years as a student senator. She was part of a team of students that started the first student-run Credit Union in the state and was integral in the state bonding and funding process for the MN State University System. She is married to James Goedtke, recipient of the first Penny Fellow awarded in 1989.

The Penny Program is named in honor of former Congressman and member of MSUSA, Tim Penny, and in memory of his wife, Barb Penny. The program awards Minnesota state college and university students who participate in public service internships and show a commitment to community service. Since 1987, The Penny Program has awarded more than $177,000 in awards. The Penny Program will be celebrating its 25th anniversary in 2012.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web