Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Campus notes for April 6

April 6, 2011
Marshall Independent

Petersen to attend UM, Morris

Kaitlin Petersen, Tyler, has been accepted to and has chosen to attend the University of Minnesota, Morris.

Petersen, a 2011 graduate of Russell-Tyler-Ruthton High School, will attend Morris beginning fall 2011. Petersen is a recipient of the Associate's Scholarship. Students graduating in the top 20 percent of their high school class receive $4,000 with this automatic $1,000 per year scholarship.

Minnesota West congratulates All-Minnesota academic team members

Minnesota West Community & Technical College congratulates Robin Jones of Montevideo for being named to the All-Minnesota Academic Team. Students were nominated by staff or faculty to apply for the team.

The All-State Academic Team was introduced nearly 20 years ago to honor and to recognize two-year college students for their leadership, academic achievement, and community and college service. In 1994, state academic teams were introduced as a way to provide scholarships and scholastic recognition to Phi Theta Kappa members while promoting excellence at two-year colleges.

Jones is a sophomore at Minnesota West, Granite Falls campus, majoring in Computer Support Technology and Information Security Assurance. She is considering career options ranging from information security management to entrepreneur of a computer optimization business. While a student at Minnesota West, Jones assisted in campus visits and was a committee member for MnSCU information technology usability studies.

Jones attended a formal recognition ceremony March 25 in Eagan. Nominees received a medallion during the ceremony. The 2011 All-Minnesota Academic Team consists of 45 outstanding students throughout the state of Minnesota each student representing a Minnesota Community and Technical College.

SDSU honor society initiates freshmen

A total of 201 freshman students were initiated into the South Dakota State University Chapter of Alpha Lambda Delta Honor Society.

Founded in spring 1924 at the University of Illinois, Alpha Lambda Delta is a national honor society that recognizes and encourages academic excellence among first-year students.

Membership in Alpha Lambda Delta is open to full-time freshmen who earn a scholastic average of 3.5 or better during their first semester at SDSU.

Members are challenged to maintain high scholarship and make a meaningful contribution to society. Area students included in the honor society are Kayla Lanoue of Milroy, Kyle Lewis of Slayton, Michelle Lenertz of Tracy and Amanda Schmidt of Vesta.

Noble accepted to MSU, Mankato

Andrew Noble, a Marshall High School senior, has been accepted for admission in Minnesota State University, Mankato. He is the son of Jamie and Carol Noble of Marshall. His planned field of study is philosophy.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web