Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Campus notes for Feb. 9

February 9, 2011
Marshall Independent

Winona State announces dean's list

Winona State University, announces the dean's list for fall 2010. To be named to the dean's list, a student must be an undergraduate enrolled full-time (at least 12 credit hours for a grade) and achieve a minimum grade point average of 3.5.

Local students on dean's list are: Marshall - Jesse Buss, Danica Louwagie, Christopher Pequin.

Antony on St. Olaf dean's list

St. Olaf College named to area students to the St. Olaf College dean's list for the fall 2010 semester. The dean's list recognizes St. Olaf students with a semester grade point average of 3.75 or higher on a 4-point scale.

Lucas Antony, the son of Allan and Jeanine Antony of Marshall, and Kaitlin Hellie, the daughter of Peter and Joy Hellie of Hanley Falls.

Local students named to Minnesota State University Moorhead dean's list

The following students have been named to the Minnesota State University Moorhead dean's list in recognition of academic achievement fall semester 2010. Students must maintain a 3.25 or higher grade point average and carry 12 graded credits to qualify for the honor. Boyd - Kaia Hassel, Donald Hermanson, Peter Lonnquist, Katrina Lonnquist Siegert, Alicia Saue. Canby - Levi Baron, Alexander Greenway, Stephanie Hansen, Jason Wollum. Clarkfield - Emily Miller. Cottonwood - Keely Huso, Travis Naab. Dawson - Tara Baker, Ashley Breberg, Justin Gabrielson, Cynthia Kvaal, Brittany Milbeck, Kiana Ochsendorf, Amanda Schueller; Ghent - Emily Dyce, Evan Dyce. Granite Falls - Jennifer DeBlieck, Courtney Knudson. Hendricks - Zachary Morseth, Lauren Trudel. Marshall - Nicole Calvin, Adam Hansen, Lindsay Mitlyng, Samantha Tauer, Rhea Wyffels. Minneota - Natalie Avey. Ruthton - Katie Madsen. Porter- Benjamin Syltie, Lana Syltie

Local student admitted to UMD

The University of Minnesota Duluth has admitted Dylan Demuth, a Marshall High School senior, for the 2011-2012 academic year. He is the son of Ron Demuth of Russell and Shelly Carter of Taunton and is planning on majoring in history.

South Central announces president's list

In recognition of their academic excellence, South Central College, has released the fall semester president's list honorees. To be eligible for the president's list, a student must be in good academic standing, and for fall semester have earned a minimum of 12 credits and achieved a Grade Point Average of 3.500 or better. Included on the list are Vesta - Dallas Stage; Walnut Grove - Kyle West.

UW Stout announces fall chancellor's list

The following students received the University of Wisconsin chancellor's award for the fall 2010 semester: Marshall - Laura Abel, Kimberly Labat, Erin Sullivan and Hope Weilage; Wabasso - Alecia Plaetz.

The award is presented to students who have a grade point average of 3.5 or above.

RCTC announces fall semester dean's list

Rochester Community and Technical College announces its fall semester dean's list. The following students have achieved a grade point average between 3.0 and 4.0 for courses completed in the fall semester ending this past December: Erika Moran of Marshall; and Walker Schaar of Tracy.

Vondracek pursues studies in London

Ellie Vondracek, a student at St. Olaf College in Northfield, is pursuing her academic studies in one of the many domestic or international programs offered through the Office of International and Off-campus studies at St. Olaf. Vondracek is studying theater in London. She is the daughter of Thomas and Kathleen Vondracek of Walnut Grove.

Alex Tech releases dean's list

Alexandria Technical & Community College has recognized 450 students for academic excellence. Include on the list are Danny Mortier of Marshall. Mortier is enrolled in the mechatronics program at the college. Andrew Larsen. Larsen is enrolled in the law enforcement program at the college.

Southeast Tech announces president's list

Southeast Technical Institute in Sioux Falls, S.D., has announced the fall 2010 semester president's list. These students have demonstrated outstanding academic performance in the classroom and in their laboratory setting. Students achieving this recognition include Chelsea Wichern, early childhood specialist, of Tyler, and Kyle Lessman, graphic communications, of Tracy.

Metropolitan State announces graduates

Several area students received their degrees from Metropolitan State University during its 87th commencement ceremony Dec. 14, 2010, in the Minneapolis Convention Center Auditorium.

Included among the graduates are: Joel Kor, Marshall, bachelor's of science in business administration; Heather Lohre, Lucan, bachelor's of science in business administration; Elizabeth McLaughlin, Marshall, bachelor's of science in business administration; Joan Van Leeuwe, Ghent bachelor's of science in business administration, with honors; and Alice Vroman, Milroy, bachelor's of science in business administration.

Area students earn degree

St. Cloud State University conducted fall 2010 commencement ceremonies Dec. 18 at Halenbeck Hall for 1,108 students.

Among them are Ghent - Melissa Breitbach, graduate certificate, learning disabilities; Lynd - Jeffrey Demuth, bachelor of arts, history, magna cum laude; Jeffrey Demuth, Bachelor of Science, Social Studies Education, Magna Cum Laude; Marshall - Nicholas Janssen, bachelor of science, technology management; Marissa Novotny, bachelor of science, community psychology, cum laude; Wabasso - Derek Stripling, bachelor of science, marketing, magna cum laude.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web