Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Former champs at it again

Chad Michelson wins second-straight title, Nancy Blanchard takes fourth club title at Marshall Golf Club championships

August 8, 2010

MARSHALL - Aside from golfing in the same foursome on the final day of the Marshall Golf Club championship, Chad Michelson and Tony Krogen share two more traits on the links.

Both Michelson and Krogen are former club champions. Also in their foursome was former club champion Tom Homan.

The other trait the two share is far away from the greens at MGC, and on the campus of Collegeville as members of the St. John's University golf team. While Michelson graduated SJU in 2005, Krogen has made his mark for the Johnnies, becoming the Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference's Player of the Year this spring.

Article Photos

Photo by Joe Brown
Chad Michelson tees off on hole No. 1 at the Marshall Golf Club during the final round of the club championship on Sunday. Michelson won the men’s championship for the second-straight year with a score of 140. For more photos, go to

"I couldn't even sniff that," Michelson said about Krogen's MIAC POY accomplishments.

"(Krogen) and Tom played really well over the last two days. Whenever you play well, it's really fun."

And while Krogen enjoyed his fine season in college, Michelson enjoyed the club championship. Michelson finished with rounds of 71 and 69, finishing with 140 and winning the club championship for the second-straight year, and the third time in five years. Homan shot a total of 145 to finish second, and Krogen took third with 147.

Fact Box

MGC Women's Club Championship

Ladies championship flight

Nancy Blanchard 77-70-147; Kari Ehlers 80-73-153; Katie Ovitt 79-85-164; Laura Strautz 89-81-170; Kari Loft 88-88-176; Olivia Bennett 90-94-184.

Ladies "A" flight

Stephanie Malingen 41-47-88; Staci Siets 44-49-93; Mary Jo Hmielewski 53-51-104; Carolyn Bennett 49-55-104; Deb Herrmann 51-59-110.

Ladies "B" flight

Jan Healy 41-50-91; Kristy Thomsen 47-52-99; Marissaa Kunde 49-53-102; Jeanette Prust 50-53-103; Norma Gile 57-52-109; Lil Schroeder 47-63-110; Rebecca Simonsen 59-63-122; LoRonda Schuler 64-60-124.

MGC Men's Club Championship

Men's championship flight

Chad Michelson 71-69-140; Tom Homan 72-73-145; Tony Krogen 74-73-147; Charlie Kost 75-75-150; Max Deutz 79-74-153; C.J. Haukom 74-79-153; Zeb Prairie 81-74-155; Charlie Ehlers 79-77-156; Tim Stegner 80-79-159; Dan Kremer 77-84-161; Tony Yang 83-80-163; Marcus Holmberg 90-87-177.

Men's "A" flight

Mark Malingen 39-38-77; Mike Ellingson 37-41-78; Gordy Loyson 41-37-78; Paul Blanchard 38-40-78; Mike Wudel 36-43-79; Bruce Bollinger 39-41-80; Shane Plante 41-39-80; Jeff Haukom 39-42-81; Steve Bennett 36-45-81; Chad Wyffels 42-41-83; Sean Trygestad 42-42-84; Tim Deutz 40-45-85; Matt Terfehr 44-42-86; Bruce Mitlyng 42-45-87; Steve Huettl 49-41-90.

Men's "B" flight

Doug Kunde 38-41-79; Darrell Wiener 42-37-79; Steve Strautz 41-40-81; Ron Labat 40-42-82; Kurt Johnson 42-41-83; Curt Kovash 41-43-84; William Kremer 39-46-85; Ramiro Sifuentes 47-39-86; Bill Archbold 43-44-87; Al Antony 44-44-88; John Thomsen 47-42-89; Dean Noyes 46-43-89; John Bot 47-46-93; Paul Meyer 48-45-93.

Men's "C" flight

Scott Baker 41-43-84; Tom Gruhot 39-47-86; Ray Fox 43-44-87; Shawn Semler 42-46-88; Mark Nelson 45-43-88; Rick Homan 41-48-89; Bob Coonradt 49-43-92; Bob Kaufman 49-43-92; Steve Schuler 48-44-92; Dan Herrmann 48-46-94; Jeff Konn 44-51-95; Tom Schwieger 46-50-96; Jeff Bragg 50-50-100; Scott Chesley 52-52-104.

Men's "D" flight

Paul Johnson 39-45-84; Pat Hennen 39-45-84; Chris Hmielewski 45-46-91; Kevin Kurth 45-47-92; Dave Schroeder 48-46-94; Jerry Wiblemo 49-45-94; Dan Prust 45-49-94; Stan Brewers 43-51-94; Mike Schroeder 45-50-95; Kanoa Baynard 46-51-97; Kim Christensen 43-56-99; Mike Martin 50-53-103; 49-54-103.

Men's "E" flight (with handicap)

Mark Atkinson 70; Dick Labat 70; Wayne Hanson 72; Shelby Foss 72; Stan Holmberg 73; Bill Houston 73; Adam Steffes 75; Tyler Bowen 76; Ron Moore 76; Todd Siers 79; Mike Naber 81; Tom Pickering 81; Nate Tykwinski 83.

Junior club championship (on Friday)

Boys 15-17: Max Deutz 37-37-74; C.J. Haukom 39-40-79. Boys 13-14: Jacob Baker 42-40-82; John Wyffels 51-41-92; Will Gallagher 51-44-95; Colin Vankeulen 62-50-112; Quinton Johnson 62-54-116. Boys 9-10: Spencer Ehlers 54; Mason Plante 56; Mike Koster 58; Parker Terfehr 66. Boys 7-8: Logan Terfehr 87.

Girls 13-14: Hanna Kruger 50-44-94; Jessica Blanchard 54-52-106; Hanna Peterson 53-54-107; Kirsten Webskowski 67-63-130. Girls 9-10: Oliva Peterson 83.

"(Saturday), I didn't hit the ball the greatest and was scrambling around pretty well...(Sunday) I played really good," Michelson said. "The front-9 was about as good as I could play. Fifteen feet and under, I made a few birdies under three feet."

Michelson said iron play was paramount to his success on the weekend, utilizing his short game to help with some struggles putting.

"On hole No. 1, I was on in two, on three, I hit a good wedge to 10 feet and missed the putt," Michelson said. "I was just hitting my irons really good."

Michelson struggled coming into the clubhouse, but gave himself a firm cushion after shooting 5-under after 13 holes on Sunday.

"I think I was up eight when I was 5-under," Michelson said. "I don't know if I lost my concentration (at the end) or worried about my score too much."

Charlie Kost finished fourth after two-straight rounds of 75 to finish with 150, while Max Deutz and C.J. Haukom rounded out the top five, each finishing with 153s.

Mark Malingen beat out the trio of Mike Ellingson, Gordy Loyson and Paul Blanchard to win the men's "A" flight, carding a 77. Doug Kunde won a sudden-death playoff with Darrell Wener to win the "B" flight, and Scott Baker shot a total of 84 to take the "C" flight. Paul Johnson won the "D" flight over Pat Hennen in a playoff, and Mark Atkinson won the "E" flight over Dick Labat.

Michelson wasn't the only former champion to come out a victor on Sunday.

In the ladies' championship flight, a familiar face to Marshall golfers returned to the top, as Nancy Blanchard shot a 147 to take the club championship. Blanchard, who won the club championship in three-straight years from 2001-2003, topped two-time defending club champion Kari Ehlers by six strokes.

"I haven't played that much this summer, so I was very pleased with both scores I had," Blanchard said. "(Sunday), hitting the ball was a little easier. I hit it close on a couple holes where I had 2-3 foot putts for birdie."

Blanchard started hot on the front-9 on Sunday, shooting a 34 on the first nine, ultimately finishing with a second-round score of 70. She said the setup in the front-9 helped her avoid breezes and helped pad a lead before going into the open space of the MGC back-9.

"On the front-9, there are three par-5s that I can reach in two," Blanchard said. "I seemed to score a little better, play a little better on the front-9. There are a few par-3s (on the back-9) that are a little harder for me, and only two par-5s."

Katie Ovitt took third with a score of 164, while Laura Strauz (170) went fourth and Kari Loft (176) rounded out the top five. Olivia Bennett finished out the championship flight with a total of 184.

Stephanie Malingen won the ladies "A" flight with a score of 88, topping Stacy Sietz by five strokes. In the "B" flight, Jan Healy bested Kristy Thomsen by eight strokes, finishing with a total of 91.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web