Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | All Access E-Edition | Home RSS

King of Course

Mead edges Larson on playoff hole to take title

June 24, 2008
By David Griswold
MARSHALL — The Marshall Golf Club/Schwan’s Men’s Invitational took all 27 holes of regulation and one sudden death playoff hole before Geoff Mead of Rapid City S.D., was finally crowned champion.

Mead competed in the championship flight of the tournament — which gave golfers the opportunity to play 27 holes of regulation.

Each golfer in the championship flight golfed 18 holes, but then the top 18 golfers would continue to play nine more holes before deciding a champion.

In this instance, it took even more than that. But in the first playoff hole Mead knocked his second shot on the par-5 No. 1 to within 10 feet of the pin to eventually go on to defeat Jesse Larson for the title.

Larson — who entered the tournament coming off a win at the Galen Skramstad Tournament last weekend at MGC— hit his second shot in the playoff hole into the green-side bunker and failed to get up-and-down for birdie.

“It was fun,” said Mead. “I hit some good shots and was fortunate enough to come out with a victory.”

Mead started hot with three birdies on his first three holes to eventually post a 2-under 34 on the front side.

The back held Mead to a 1-over 37 for an 18-hole total of 71 — one back of 18-hole leader Chad Michelson.

Larson — a three-time MGC/Schwan Invitational champion — opened the tournament 1-over through four holes after shooting three straight pars and a bogey. He quickly responded with a birdie on the par-4 fifth to get back to even. He went on to shoot an even-par 36 on the front.

Larson started the back nine slow with a double bogey on the par-3 10th hole after he hit his tee shot into the bunker and struggled to get the ball close to a difficult pin placement — a re-occurring theme throughout the course.

“They were challenging,” Larson said. “The first 18 holes the pins were very tough.”

Larson quickly got a stroke back with a birdie on the difficult par-4 11th hole to eventually shoot another 36 on the back for a 72 after 18 holes.

Trailing by two strokes,, Larson shot a 1-under 35 on the final nine holes to hold the lead with a 1-under total (107).

“I’m happy with the way I played the last nine holes,” said Larson. “My putter was hot and it kind of kept me in it today.”

The lead held up until the final group entered the club house.

Eighteen-hole leader Michelson shot 2-over in the final nine holes for a 38 to finish the tournament even-par (108), but Mead shot a 36 to push Larson into a sudden death playoff hole.

Larson and Mead extended their match to the par-5 first hole where Mead hit two clutch shots to close the door on Larson.

“I’ve never played here before, but I really enjoyed it,” Mead said. “The golf course was in great shape and the people are all really nice around here.”

Mead claimed the championship flight, but the tournament accommodated for golfers of all skill levels with six additional flights to put golfers, with relative skill levels, in competition with each other. Each golfer was placed within a flight according to their course handicap. All flights outside of the championship flight played only 18 holes of competition.

Rick Mattson won the first flight, which consisted of the top 11 golfers in accordance to course handicap, with an 80. Jeremiah Dahl shot the low round of anybody outside of the championship flight. He was placed in the third flight and took the championship after shooting a 78.

“I felt like I did pretty well,” Dahl said. “The pins were tight, but it’s always a fun course to come to.”

The first Flight champion, Mattson, not only claimed the title in the toughest flight of the tournament, but defeated his long-time friend Dave Musser in their annual nickel/dime side game.

“He and I have played a nickel a hole or dime a hole for almost 35 years,” Mattson said. “I would say we were about even, but I got the best of him (Monday). I won 30 cents from him — that was better than winning the tournament.”

Steve Huettl took first place in the second flight with a 79, Dahl was the third flight champion and Tom Gruhot won the fourth flight with an 84.

Garrit Jepma won the fifth flight with an 87 while Roderick Benjamin shot the low round in the sixth flight with a 95.

Earlier in the weekend Tom Homan, Tony Krogen and Michelson teamed up to win the McGladrey Team Championship Saturday with a team score of 61 to qualify for the sectional tournament at Troy Burne Golf Course in Hudson, Wis.

Championship Flight

* 1. Geoff Mead—107

1. Jesse Larson—107

3. Chad Michelson—108

t4. Tom Carlson—109

t4. Jon Musser—109

t6. Tom Homan—110

t6. Tony Krogen—110

8. Adam Wudel—113

9. Troy Deutz—115

10. Charlie Kost—116

t11. Keith Larson—120

t11. Ryan Trasamas—120

Other Individual Scores

Blake Johnson—121

Will Murray—124

Alan Hagen—126

Mikael Zuidema—126

Michael Keeton—127

Zeb Prairie—127

Jeff Vandendreische—128

Tyson Elder—129

Todd Miller—81

Scott Lockwood—85

Mike Champ—86

Matt Mukomela—86

Mike Champ—86

Tony Yang—87

Jay Pitzl—89

First Flight

1. Rick Mattson —80

t2. Tim Kulow —81

t2. Bruce Mytling—81

4. David Musser—82

5. Scott Hiller—83

t6. Dwayne Riley—84

t6. Darrel Wiener—84

Tim Deutz—87

Gordy Loyson—88

James Benning—91

Bill Strom—93

Second Flight

1. Steve Huettl—79

2. Larry Goodroad—86

t3. John Bot—88

t3. Jeff Slagter—88

t3. Steve Zondervan—88

6. Larry Nelson—89

Scott Chesley—92

Ron Einspahr—93

Todd Madden—93

Third Flight

1. Jeremiah Dahl—78

t2. Greg Mulder—82

t2. Mike Brenner—82

4. Ron Labat—84

5. Jerry Dahl—86

6. David Anderson—87

Mike Fleming—89

Don Miller—91

Dean Busach—92

Marlin Winkelman—96

John Chisham—97

Ron Ulferts—99

Fourth Flight

1. Tom Gruhot—84

2. Swede Berens—88

3. Bill Larson— 90

t4. Bill Parriott—92

t4. Mike Lownsbury—92

t4. Paul Tatge—92

Ray Fox—94

Ron Kavanagh—94

Bob Eichenlaub—95

Dan Besonen—98

Roger Evert—99

Fifth Flight

1. Garrit Jepma—87

t2. Jon Hilleren—89

t2. Gerry Busiahn—89

4. Jack Dahl—89

5. Roger Lesterburg—91

6. Allan Rice—92

Kipp Stender—93

Joe Johnson—93

Dick Labat—100

Pat Hansen—109

Sixth Flight

1. Roderick Benjamin—95 (73.2)

2. Ron Lesteberg—96 (74.7)

3. Dick Pittenger—108 (75.9)

4. Willard Engel—102 (78.5)

5. Mike Kabris—102 (81.1)

6. Bob Zeilsdorf—113 (88.8)

Roger Tjosaas—116 (93.1)

Article Photos

Photo by David Griswold
Geoff Mead hits his drive on the first playoff hole during the Marshall Golf Club/Schwan's Men's Invitational Monday at MGC. Mead defeated Jesse Larson in the first playoff hole to win the championship flight.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web