Dimmers in as Tracy mayor; Telkamp re-elected Murray Co. sheriff

Tuesday’s elections had an impact on state and national politics, but there were also notable results for local government and schools. In the area around Marshall, there were contested races for city, county and school district positions.

In area city races, the city of Tracy had an eventful Election Day. Not only were voters choosing a new mayor and council members, but they were also weighing in on two proposed amendments to the city charter. In the mayoral race, Anthony Dimmers came out ahead, with 56 percent of the vote, Lyon County reported. Unofficial totals showed Dimmers received 405 votes and current Tracy City Council member Tony Peterson received 309 votes.

“I’m thrilled with the outcome, and I do look forward to working with everyone in Tracy,” Dimmers said Wednesday. Dimmers said he’s enjoyed getting to talk with local residents during his campaign for mayor, and hoped to help the Tracy community do positive things.

Both of the ballot questions amending the Tracy city charter passed on Tuesday. Voters were asked to vote “yes” or “no” to each proposal — the first would expand the Tracy City Council to include a mayor and six members instead of a mayor and four members, and the second clarified the term limits for Tracy mayors and council members.

The proposal to add two members to the Tracy City Council passed, with an unofficial total of 440 “yes” votes and 274 “no” votes. The proposal to clarify term limits passed with a wider margin. It received 579 “yes” votes to 141 “no” votes.

In a special election, Kou Thao was elected to the Tracy City Council. He received 426 votes, and candidate David “Spence” Spencer received 291 votes. Council member Jeri Schons, who ran unopposed, was re-elected to the council.

City races

In Lyon County, the city of Russell also had a contested mayoral race this year. Roger Hook received an unofficial total of 103 votes, and Joel Van Damme received 40 votes. Russell also elected Matt Kerkaert and Alan Martin to its city council, in a race that had five total candidates.

The city of Balaton elected Dylan Fricke and Curtis Paradis to the city council, in a race that had four total candidates. The city of Ghent elected Adam DeRoode and Jeffrey Gruhot to city council, in another race with four candidates.

Sheriff and county races

There were contested sheriff’s races in both Murray and Lincoln County this year. In Murray County, voters re-elected Sheriff Steve Telkamp. Unofficial vote totals from the Minnesota Secretary of State’s Office said Telkamp received 2,285 votes, or about 55 percent of the total vote in the county. Challenger Paul Kenney received 1,864 votes.

In Lincoln County, Sheriff Chad Meester was re-elected by a smaller margin. Vote totals showed Meester receiving 1,249 votes, or 51.9 percent of the total vote. Challenger Nathan Nafziger received 1,155 votes, or 48 percent of the total.

There were also a few contested county commissioner races in the area, including in Murray and Yellow Medicine Counties.

In Murray County, there were two contested races for county commissioner. Dennis Welgraven won the election in Commissioner District 3, with 502 votes to Sarah Rylaarsdam’s 218 votes. Jim Kluis won the Commissioner District 4 election, with 591 votes to Glenn (Corky) Kluis’ 320 votes.

In Yellow Medicine County, the Commissioner District 1 race was contested. Greg Renneke won with 456 votes, compared to Jane Remiger’s 378 votes.

School district elections

Several area school districts had elections Tuesday, and some with contested races. The Dawson-Boyd School District elected four members to its school board. Out of a slate of six candidates, Ann Jenson led in vote totals with 958 votes. She was followed by David Bothun with 876 votes; Jordan Baldwin with 753; and Cameron Jurgenson with 694.

In the Wabasso School District, voters chose four members for the school board out of a pool of five total candidates. Travis Welch led in votes, with a total of 754. He was followed by David Eis with 743 votes; Tom Carlson with 742 votes; and Caroline Netzke with 650 votes.

Westbrook-Walnut Grove also had several school board candidates running this year. Out of a pool of five candidates, voters elected three. Greg Madson led in vote totals with 713 votes. He was followed by Maury Kuehl with 697; and Maydra Maas with 668.