Walz leads gubernatorial preference ballot in DFL caucuses

U.S. Congressman Tim Walz came out on top of a preference ballot for Minnesota governor candidates at Democratic precinct caucuses Tuesday.

It was a pattern that held true for southwest Minnesota as well, according to unofficial results from the Minnesota Democratic-Farmer-Labor Party.

Statewide, more than 29,000 people cast votes on a gubernatorial preference ballot at the precinct caucuses, according to unofficial results posted on the Minnesota DFL website. With 95 percent of precincts reporting in, Walz received a total of 8,982 votes. Walz was followed by Minnesota State Auditor Rebecca Otto, with 5,886 votes; Minnesota state Rep. Erin Murphy of St. Paul, with 3,862 votes; St. Paul mayor Chris Coleman, with 3,437 votes; state Rep. Tina Liebling of Rochester, with 1,810 votes; and state Rep. Paul Thissen of Minneapolis, with 1,366 votes.

A total of 3,829 voters said they were uncommitted, and 230 cast votes for other candidates.

Walz was also popular in western and southwestern Minnesota, according to the unofficial ballot results. The DFL website broke down the preference ballot results by each of the state’s eight U.S. Congressional districts. In District 7, which covers almost all of western Minnesota, Walz received 744 out of a total 2,018 votes cast. Of the six gubernatorial candidates on the ballot, Liebling received the fewest votes in District 7, with 100. A total of 269 voters in District 7 said they were uncommitted.

District 7 contains most counties in the Marshall area, including Lyon, Lincoln, Murray, Pipestone, Redwood and Yellow Medicine counties.

Walz also came out ahead in Congressional District 1, which stretches across southern Minnesota and into Jackson, Nobles and Rock counties. Unofficial ballot results said a total of 2,402 votes were cast at precinct caucuses in District 1. Walz received 1,442 of those votes. Of the named candidates, Thissen received the fewest votes in District 1, with a total of 51. A total of 149 voters in District 1 said they were uncommitted.