SMSU to host Minnesota State Board of Trustees meeting

MARSHALL — For the first time in its history, Southwest Minnesota State University will host the Minnesota State Board of Trustees meeting on Tuesday and Wednesday in the Conference Center Ballroom on campus.

It will be the first time that the Board of Trustees meet in a non-metro location.

The Tuesday portion of the two-day board meeting will consist of committee meetings, including Academic and Student Affairs and Audit. A joint committee meeting between Academic and Student Affairs and Finance and Facilities will conclude Tuesday’s agenda.

Wednesday’s full board meeting will begin at 1 p.m., and will be preceded by morning Finance and Facilities and Human Resources Committee meetings.

The Minnesota State system is governed by a 15-member Board of Trustees appointed by the governor. The Board has policy responsibility for system planning, academic programs, fiscal management, personnel, admissions requirements, tuition and fees, and rules and regulations. Devinder Malhotra is the interim chancellor of the Minnesota State system. Michael Vekich is the chair of the Board of Trustees.

Minnesota State is the fourth-largest system of state colleges and universities in the nation with 30 colleges, seven universities and 54 campuses. It serves over 375,000 students annually. SMSU is the youngest of the seven four-year institutions.

“We are happy to have the opportunity to host the Minnesota State Board of Trustees,” said SMSU President Dr. Connie J. Gores. “This will give us an opportunity to show the Board what a special place SMSU is as we celebrate our 50th anniversary as an institution.”

All meetings are open to the public.

To learn more about the Minnesota State system, visit: