SMSU briefs for March 28

SMSU announces recent graduates

A total of 310 degrees were awarded to students following the summer and fall session of courses at Southwest Minnesota State University.

The students earned their degrees in both undergraduate and graduate degree programs. An undergraduate student who completes 12 or more A-F graded credits and achieves a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher will be considered for the dean’s list and is denoted by a * behind their name.

Balaton: Lucas Timmerman (associate of arts: liberal arts & sciences) Sara DeGroat* (bachelor of science: marketing). Canby: Stephanie Bekaert (bachelor of science: culinology). Cottonwood: Katrina Schultz* (bachelor of arts: psychology). Marshall: Cassie Morgan (bachelor of science: social work); Katriel Linscott (associate of arts: liberal arts & sciences); Lucas Smidt (master of business administration: management); Lucas Tietz (master of business administration: Management); Martin Olsen (associate of arts: liberal arts & sciences); Scott Anthony Voss (master of business administration: management; See Moua-Leske (master of science: special education); Shelby Maes (bachelor of Science: social work); Terry Kriz (master of business administration: management). Milroy: Kelly Donner (bachelor of science: exercise science). Minneota: Luis Macias (bachelor of science: exercise science). Slayton: Meghan Harrington (master of business administration: management). Taunton: Nicole Sterzinger (associate of arts: liberal arts & sciences). Westbrook: Karleyn McClellan* (bachelor of science: early childhood education)(bachelor of science: elementary education). Walnut Grove: Kylee Jenniges* (bachelor of science: Management).

‘The Awesome ’80s Prom’ closes SMSU Theater’s 50th anniversary celebration

SMSU Theater closes its 50th anniversary season with the interactive comedy “The Awesome ’80s Prom” by Ken Davenport and the Class of ’89. Performances are April 12-14 and 19-21 at 7:30 p.m., and April 22, at 2 p.m. All performances are in the SMSU Conference Center Lower Level, with free parking available in lot A-1. Tickets are $10 and are available at and at the door. All performances are free to SMSU students with a valid student ID.

SMSU Theater’s 50th anniversary celebration wouldn’t be complete without a big party and a nod to the ’80s. During the show you’ll travel back in time to 1989 at Wanaget High’s senior prom. All your favorite character types from ’80s movies will be there — the captain of the football team, the exchange students, the head cheerleader, the geek — all competing to be prom king and queen. And just like on reality TV, the audience decides who wins! At this blast-from-the-past party in the style of “Tony ‘n Tina’s Wedding,” you can come in costume and join in the interactive fun, or just sit back, listen to great ’80s music and watch the action unfold all around you.

“The Awesome ’80s Prom” is directed by Theater Professor Sheila Tabaka of Marshall, who is also the costume designer. Theater Professor Mike Lenz of Cottonwood, is the scenic, lighting and sound designer and technical director, and also plays Principal Richard “Dick” Snelgrove. Theater Professor Nadine Purvis Schmidt of Estelline, S.D., is the producer. Sariah Cheadle, a junior theater arts and English double major from Fulda, is the stage manager and plays Melissa Ann “Missy” Martin. The cast and crew includes:

• Emily Errico, a sophomore literature and professional writing and communication double major from Vancouver, Wash., as Heather No. 1.

• Antoinette Fox-Zachar, a freshman art major and indigenous studies, Dakota culture minor from Standing Rock as Watts.

• Anita Talsma Gaul, an SMSU history adjunct faculty member from Marshall, as Mrs. Lascalzo.

• Colin Hoppe, a junior history and education major from St. James, as Louis Fensterspock

• Zoe Lier, a freshman communications major and management minor from Henderson, Nev. and Hannah Buysse, a sophomore social science major with minors in history, English, and education from Minneota, sharing the role of Inga Swanson.

• Whittney McCamish, a sophomore history major and theater arts minor from Ellendale as Molly Parker.

• Danny McDonnell, a junior theater arts and elementary education double major and Spanish minor from Jordan, as Joshua “Beef” Beefarowski.

• Avianna McFarquhar, a freshman theater arts and business double major and creative writing minor from Woodbridge, Va., as Whitley Whitiker.

• Paul Ragan, a junior history and secondary education major and theater arts/acting and directing minor from Fosston, as Blake Williams.

• Raxson Rax, a sophomore theater Arts major from Milan, as Feung Schway.

• Jaylee Schanus, a junior theater arts major from Willmar, as Kerrie Kowalski.

• Cat Schmidt, a sophomore theater arts and pre-physical therapy double major from Arlington, as Lolly Parker.

• Jordan Stangeland, a senior psychology major and theater arts minor from Marshall, as Nick Fender.

• Abraham Tabares, a community member from Marshall, as Johnny Hughes.

• Dean Zinda, a junior culinology and hospitality management double major from Milwaukee, Wis., as Michael Jay.

• Elizabeth Zoya, a freshman theater arts major from Maplewood, as Heather #2.

• Mara Wiggins, assistant professor and collection management/E-resources librarian for SMSU’s McFarland Library, is the Dramaturg.

• Sally Tabaka, a Marshall High School student, is the assistant stage manager.

“The Awesome ’80s Prom” is presented by special arrangement with Samuel French, Inc. For more information, call the Theater office at 507-537-7103.