SMSU Briefs for Feb. 28

Cowan Award applications being accepted

Applications for the Cowan Award at Southwest Minnesota State University are now being accepted.

The Cowan Award is presented each year during commencement to a deserving member of the SMSU community who represents the many special aspects of the late Dr. Cathy Cowan. Nominations are being accepted through Monday, March 19.

Dr. Cathy Cowan served as psychology professor at SMSU from 1989 until her untimely death in December 2001. During her time at SMSU, Cowan served as chairperson of the Social Science Department and was active in the IFO union. She also served the community and was known for her work ethic and “doing good for others.” After her death, the SMSU community created the Cowan Award to honor her outstanding service to the university and the region.

The 2018 Cowan Award nomination form is available on the Academic Deans’ Office web page at or in the Academic Deans’ Office in BA 268.

Nominations for this award may come from students, faculty, staff, administrators, and members of the local or regional community. Nominees must be a current SMSU employee with a minimum of five years of service to SMSU. Self-nominations or anonymous nominations are not accepted. Previous nominees are eligible for re-nomination; however, previous recipients cannot be re-nominated.

The 2018 recipient of the Cowan Award will be honored during the SMSU Commencement ceremony on May 5.

Questions regarding nomination or the award process can be directed to Dr. Pat Brace, Cowan Award Committee, at or 507-537-7456.