Campus Notes for Feb. 28

Doerr included on Drake University’s dean’s list

Nicolas Doerr of Marshall has been named to the dean’s list at Drake University in Des Moines, Iowa. This academic honor is achieved by earning a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher during the fall 2017 semester at Drake.

Moritz named to dean’s list at Fort Lewis College

Erica Moritz of Granite Falls was named to Fort Lewis College’s dean’s list for the fall 2017 semester. Moritz’s major is psychology.

To be eligible for dean’s list, a student must carry a semester GPA of 3.6 or better in no fewer than 15 credit hours of graded college level work and have completed all work for which they are registered by the end of the semester.

Koester graduates from The College of St. Scholastica

The College of St. Scholastica has announced its list of conferred graduates for fall 2017. Talicia Koester of Cottonwood graduated from The College of St. Scholastica with a bachelor of science in nursing.

St. Scholastica had its fall 2017 commencement ceremony Dec. 16 in Reif Gymnasium in the Burns Wellness Commons on campus.

Sueker included on SD School of Mines & Technology students dean’s list

Nearly 700 South Dakota School of Mines & Technology in Rapid, S.D., students were named to the dean’s list for the 2017 fall semester.

Mitchell Sueker of Marshall majors in electrical engineering and is a freshman.

In order to merit a spot on the dean’s list, students must earn a grade point average of 3.5 or higher for the semester. Full-time students must have earned a minimum of 12 credit hours that term, while part-time students must have earned between three and 11 credit hours that term.

Area students named to fall 2017 dean’s list at BSU

Area students earned dean’s list honors from Bemidji State University in Bemidji at the conclusion of the Fall 2017 term.

Canby, Richelle Kallhoff; Marshall, Josette Nelson.

To be eligible for the dean’s list, BSU students must be enrolled for at least 12 credits and earn a 3.5 GPA during the semester

Gutman included on Gustavus Adolphus 2017 fall semester dean’s list

The fall semester dean’s list at Gustavus Adolphus College has been released. The list comprises students who have earned a 3.7 grade-point average (based on a scale in which 4.0 = A) or higher for the semester ending in December 2017.

The following local student was named to the dean’s list at Gustavus Adolphus College: Marshall, Michael Gutman.

Students named to dean’s list at Bethel

The following students have been named to the dean’s list for academic excellence for the fall 2017 semester at Bethel University, St. Paul: Dawson, Joey Lee, senior, the son Daniel and Stacey Lee.

Tracy, Cassandra Hook, senior, the daughter Tom and Shannon Hook. Ellen Tiegs, senior, the daughter Dave and Kristin Tiegs.

The dean’s list honors students who achieve an outstanding scholastic record during a semester with a grade-point average of 3.6 or greater.

Minnesota West Community & Technical College 21st annual Xtravaganza is March 15

Minnesota West Community & Technical College Canby Campus will host the 21st annual Xtravaganza event from 8 a.m.-7 p.m. Thursday, March 15. check-in at the Diesel Technology building. Program shadowing is available from 9-11 a.m. and 12:30-2:30 p.m. during the Xtravaganza. During program shadowing students are able to choose one or more of the following programs to explore, diesel technology, dental assistant, electrician and wind energy Technology. There will also be a burger feed open to the public 11 a.m.-7 p.m. in the Diesel Technology Building.

To register or find out more information about the Xtravaganza, visit or call 800-658-2330. This event is open to the public.