Campus Notes for June 7

Olson elected to Lawrence University Pi Kappa Lambda honor society

Froya Olson, the daughter of Paul Olson and Katherine Dantzler-Olson, Dawson, has been elected to Lawrence University’s chapter of Pi Kappa Lambda, a national honor society that recognizes students for exceptional musical and scholastic achievements. She is a 2013 graduate of Montevideo High School.

McVey participates in commencement ceremony at SJU

Adam McVey, the son of Bruce and Laurie McVey of Marshall, participated in the 160th annual commencement ceremony at St. John’s University on May 14 in the Saint John’s Abbey and University Church, Collegeville. McVey received a bachelor of arts in biochemistry with the honor of magna cum laude. Magna cum laude indicates a grade point average between 3.75 and 3.90.

Area students graduate from MSUM

Minnesota State University Moorhead awarded degrees to about 875 students during its spring commencement program May 12 in the university’s Nemzek Fieldhouse.

The following students are among the graduates: Ashley Gislason, Minneota High School, bachelor of arts; Kaia Hassel, Dawson-Boyd High School, master of science; Wendy Lee, Marshall High School, bachelor of fine arts; David Ordemann, Marshall High School, bachelor of science; Amanda Recker, Lakeview School, master of science.

Area residents inducted into Phi Kappa Phi honor society

The following area residents recently were initiated into The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, the nation’s oldest and most selective all-discipline collegiate honor society.

Justine Possail of Arco, Kelsey Maeyaert of Minneota and Samantha Gervais of Currie were initiated at South Dakota State University.

Only the top 10 percent of seniors and 7.5 percent of juniors are eligible for membership.

Dakota State 2017 spring honors list released

A total of 452 full-time and 206 part-time students qualified for the President’s Academic Honors list for the 2017 spring semester at Dakota State University in Madison, S.D.

The following full-time students achieved a grade-point average of 3.5 to 4.0 to qualify for the honors list: Nicholas Prokop, Canby; Alexander Van Keulen, Ghent; Stephanie Boersma, Marshall; Nathan Wieneke, Slayton.

Minnesota State Community and Technical College announces spring 2017 graduates

The following area students were among the 860 who graduated from Minnesota State Community and Technical College campuses in Detroit Lakes, Fergus Falls, Moorhead and Wadena during commencement ceremonies in May.

Dawson, Allyson Jensen, Liberal Arts and Sciences, AA; Marshall, Shane Kunde, Liberal Arts and Sciences, AA.

NDSCS announces spring 2017 president’s honor list

The North Dakota State College of Science has named 389 students to its spring semester 2017 president’s honor list. The honor list recognizes students who have achieved grade point averages of 3.5 or higher while taking at least 12 credits with letter grades.

The honorees include: Dominic Ourada, Lucan, John Deere Tech.

Smith is spring semester 2017 graduate of the U of M Crookston

The Office of the Registrar at the University of Minnesota Crookston recently announced its list of spring semester 2017 graduates. Students completed their degree requirements during spring semester 2017.

Graduates in the class of 2017 included: Ashton Smith, of Russell, who earned a bachelor of science in accounting and agricultural business.

Area residents make dean’s list at Rochester Community and Technical College

The following local residents were among over 1,000 students from Rochester Community and Technical College who made the dean’s list for spring semester ending this past May.

Balaton, Brooke Wendland; Tracy, Logan Axford and Jessica Nelson

To qualify for the dean’s list, a student must successfully complete 12 or more letter-graded credits, in the same semester, and achieve a grade-point average between 3.0 and 4.0.