Fokken receives award

Mark Fokken, communication studies professor at Southwest Minnesota State University, has been recognized by the Communication and Theater Association of Minnesota with the Outstanding Individual in Communication and Theater Award. The award is given to individuals who have made significant contributions to the fields either educationally or professionally. Fokken was recognized for his 23 years of teaching and coaching speech in Minnesota and also for his work in hosting speech competitions.

The award was presented Sept. 18 and 19 at the annual conference of the organization in St. Cloud. Previous recipients of the award have included noteworthy educators, speech coaches and professionals such as Hubert Humphrey, Dave Moore, Charlie Boone, Roger Erickson and Heather Werzer. Jason Olson (class of 2002), head speech coach at Hutchinson High School and a former student of Fokken’s, nominated him for the award.

CTAM is an organization of approximately 300 communication and theater educators from elementary through post-secondary levels. The award was presented by Olson and CTAM president, Sandra Wieser-Matthews of Perham High School.